Mah Jong Solitaire and Winds #MondayBlogs

It’s Mah Jong Monday again, a day I like to spend talking about aspects of the game.

First – Let’s Consider a Pool Party

I love this photo of four women playing Mah Jong in 1924. I found in Elaine Sandberg’s book, Winning American Mah Jong Strategies. Doesn’t it look like fun?


 

Solitaire

There are many apps and on-line games for solitaire Mah Jong, but that’s not what I’m talking about here. I’m talking about a solitaire-way of playing the game Mah Jong with the classic tiles.

I’ve just started playing it, to practice hands and hopefully improve my strategy (which shouldn’t be hard, as I don’t have any yet – lol).

I twitter (i.e., mix up) the tiles and draw thirteen. I pick up and discard tiles and work towards a hand for Mah Jong.

This game shoud work with all versions of the game, though you might want to add a Charleston by randomly selecting three tiles and passing three seven times, if you are playing the American Version.

Winds

Winds are honor tiles. There are four of each: East wind, South wind, West wind and North wind.

I looked up the meaning of the tiles, and while each has symbolism associated with it, it didn’t really enhance the game for me. All I really need to know at this point is that they are honor tiles and honor tiles play an important role in hands.


What’s Next?

Next Monday I’ll look at the three suits in Mah Jong.

If you found this post interesting, check out the rest of my Mah Jong mini-series.


Sources:

Sandberg Elaine, A Beginner’s Guide to American Mah Jongg How to Play the Game & Win, Tuttle Publishing, North Claredon, 2007

Sandberg Elaine, Winning American Mah Jong Strategies, Tuttle Publishing, NOrth Claredon, 2012


Confucius

“Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.” ~ Confucius

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “Mah Jong Solitaire and Winds #MondayBlogs”

Leave a Reply

