3 Reasons I Write Ghostly Tales

It’s WIP (i.e., work in progress) Wednesday …

I’m a quiet, serious sort of person, so why do I choose to write lighthearted, ghost stories, or what I call paranormal light, or gothic with a wink?

One – My Muse has Peculiar Taste

I backed-up and fell into this genre.

I thought I would enjoy writing post- apocalyptic stories as they are great back-drops for strong characters.

Boy was I wrong! I have a draft of a story about life after bio-warfare. The virus is carried in weaponized mosquitoes and my tag line was: It only takes one bite. IMHO the bones of the story are pretty good, but it will never see the light of day, because it needs at least six weeks of editing and I can’t stand the thought of spending even one more day with my mind in the ugly darkness of that world. It’s unbelievably hard. Sort of like swimming through mud.

When I read post-apoc, I’m only in that world for a few hours, but when I write it, I need to put my whole mind and heart into it for days on end. [shiver, shiver] It’s just not my cup of letters.

Anyway … as I wrote the postapoc story, my muse would do its best to escape from the harshness of the world I was creating. First, I began writing Haiku, and imagined that my heroine would be writing it, to escape her surroundings. That helped and it was fun, but as I neared the end of the first draft I found I needed more diversion, so I started writing a silly ghost story and fell in love with it.

click for link

It made me laugh and the writing was easy and fun. That story became A Highland Ghost for Christmas, my most popular story.

What I’ve learned from this experience is life is easier when I listen to my muse.

 

 

 

Two – Ghosts are Intriguing

Writing humorous ghost scenes, speculating about their lives after death and playing with horror is a lot of fun.

Once I had created the world of Sunset Cove, stories flowed through my head and I couldn’t stop writing them. The next three novellas came easily: A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match (launching in June).

Currently I’m working on a spin-off novel, tentatively called Midnight Magic: A Ghost and Abby Mystery, which I’ll publish in the fall.

Three – The Horror/Comedy Seesaw

Ghosts, even when they are funny at times, are dead and scary. I like the push and pull of the emotions they invoke in people (myself included). They create conflict in a story by their mere existence.

So, those are my reasons for writing ghost stories, which I hope will entertain you and let you escape from the stresses and confines of our modern world.


This is my latest release:

Amazon.com link    Amazon.ca link

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “3 Reasons I Write Ghostly Tales”

  1. Such a fun post, Jo-Ann. My mind has drifted toward apocalypse stories lately, but then I back away. Obviously for good reasons. I think it would be depressing. Now your delightful ghost stories are just the opposite. Hope your Muse keeps those coming. I’ve shared. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marsha,
      I agree it’s no wonder that our minds drift to end-of-the-world scenarios. The news’ headlines are so dreadful.
      Thanks for your sweet praise. Much appreciated.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. You can’t force the muse. You’ve found a great niche, Jo-Ann, and who knows where it will lead in the future. The stories are light and fun and I think we all need more of that in our lives. Your heroines all have their own kind of strength.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Judy,
      You’re so right about my muse! I didn’t expect her to be so stubborn and picky. lol.
      Thanks for your kind comments, and seeing both the humor and the strength in the stories. Good readers, rock.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Write what makes you happy. Life is too short to immerse yourself in something that makes you feel as if you’re swimming in mud. I suspect writers such as Hugh Howie are fascinated with their worlds and immersing themselves in them has not been a difficult thing for them. Besides your ghosts are fun. And who doesn’t need some more fun in their life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat,
      I think you’re absolutely right. And for me I have to add, what makes my heart/muse happy, not my mind.
      Thanks for your kind comments. I’m so glad you like my ghostly yarns.
      may the good spirits be with you,
      hugs,
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a very enjoyable post to read! It’s always interesting to get a glimpse inside the mind of an author. As my husband says he’s not sure if he believes in ghosts or not, but it is more fun to believe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

