3 Reasons No One Wants to Read About #Compassion #MondayBlog

I wrote a post last Monday listing my three favourite compassion quotes. I expected it to be read not only by my regular readers, but by others as well. My intention was to write an uplifting piece.

Whether it was uplifting or not is debatable, but one thing is for sure; the readers didn’t come.

Why? I settled on three reasons. See what you think.

One – People thought it would be political.

I don’t talk politics on SM. Sex, yes, but not politics. Even at the best of times it’s a divisive topic, and this clearly is not the best of times. The way I see it, the world is trembling with tension.

I’m guessing some people thought a discussion about compassion would end up being a discussion about politics.

But nope. It wasn’t.

Two – People are tired of compassion.

Hmmm. That’s a harsh thought, but it could be true. Compassion fatigue is a real thing. People still have Christmas bills to pay off, their worried about their jobs, their health and a million other personal things. Reading about compassion did not excite them. “Been there, done that, pass the gossip blog please.”

Three – People are tired of blogs.

I know my readership is down, even though my subscription list keeps going up. People are busy and there’s a lot of whiz-bang stuff begging for their attention.

What now?

I still think compassion is a worthy topic.

If I gave up writing every time I got ignored, I would never finish anything. I said February would be my month to talk about compassion and so I will continue to do so until the last week (which will be a gratitude gathering week). I hope those readers not interested in it will return next month.

What About You?

Do you think feel-good topics like compassion are overdone? Are you blogged out? Suffering from compassion fatigue? I’d love to hear some opinions.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

14 thoughts on “3 Reasons No One Wants to Read About #Compassion #MondayBlog”

  1. I totally know what you mean when you say if you stopped writing every time you got ignored. I wouldn’t have written another blog once I started to look at my stats and noticed that not many people read my posts. I don’t think people are blogged out, I think they are too busy with whatever they have going on in their lives. We need to take back lazy Sunday’s where people linger around reading newspapers, blogs and spend time doing nothing. Isn’t that a thing in Italy? The art of doing nothing.
    Compassion is a very important topic to discuss. Last week after reading your blog I held compassion in my heart for the week and continue to do so. Your blog and thoughts about compassion sparked a great conversation with my hubby over dinner and it was about compassion and the lack of compassion we seem to notice in our every day lives. Compassion is not political, it is about kindness and like meditation and anything else you want to be good at or make a part of your life, it sometimes takes time and practice and little patience doesn’t hurt either, haha.
    Keep going Jo-Ann, I love your blogs and how you lay it all out on the page. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OM gosh Marion Ann
      What a nice thing to say. Just what every writer wants to hear. Someone out there is reading what I’m writing. Thank you for sharing that. I am so grateful to have you as a writing friend, and a reader.
      hugs,
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Where would we be without compassion? I think it’s almost synonymous with kindness, except there’s the element of feeling what the other is feeling. But I wouldn’t limit it to other humans. I think animals deserve our compassion too. They can feel pain, hunger and loneliness just like humans. It’s hard to feel compassion if someone has hurt your feelings, or angered you. Of course I’m sure the Dalai Lama would say that they are the ones who need it the most. Compassion can take so many forms. I loved the idea of ‘sustaining coffees’. I think the idea should be more widely embraced.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helena,
      I agree completely.
      Though I’m not as attached to pets as you are to your cats. lol
      You lost me on the coffee bit, but it is late.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      hugs,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Well I try to read what you write but truthfully some days I am just two tired to deal with anything. Hope you don’t quit writing because I do enjoy your pieces, so keep up the good work and I’ll try to not just erease everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo-Ann, I always find everything you say to be interesting. I honestly missed the post.
    Don’t feel bad, I have many blogs that have no comments on them at all.

    “Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them, humanity cannot survive.”
    ― Dalai Lama XIV, The Art of Happiness

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi,
      Thanks. I’m like you, I don’t always comment on blogs and to be honest I don’t catch them all.
      I have a feeling that the topic if compassion, though, gets a different response from people.
      Anyway, thanks for reading my scribbles and adding to the conversation.
      All the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. …..although politics is far from in the shadows, esp impending the election (again!) in the UK, I can safely say that compassion is far from the darkness too. So keep spreading your light xx with warmth & wishes 🐇
    🐇 Up and Down the Rabbit Hole 💜
    goo.gl/T2FLhG

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

