The Power of Being You #Gratitude #Mondayblog #New Release

be-just-be-engage-in-the-moment-and-be-forget-the-laundrythe-billsthe-nosy-neighbor-who-lets-her-dog-poop-on-your-lawn-the-friend-who-forgot-to-callthe-loved-one-who-betrayed-youthe-wrinkles-grow


My poem does not present a new concept, but it’s one that can never bedohjtfxjzfw-levi-xu shared enough and one I constantly remind myself of.

Engaging in the moment, engaging in ourselves on a deep level, brings the craziness of the world to a stop. Only then can we experience our own truth.

Take a breath and be.


c397a28b4c188686a8efc48fb61ca0b9Gratitude in a Jar

Continuing on my theme for this month: gratitude.

Some people like to stick it in a jar. Gratitude statements that is. It’s a popular alternative to writing journals. At the end of the year, you open the jar and read the slips  of paper.

It’s another way to capture and cherish what we are grateful for.


My Own Gratitude Journal Attemptpuzzle-1415247_1280

I thought I’d try (again) to keep a Gratitude journal. As I suspected it wasn’t easy for me. I kept arguing with myself. Isn’t it good enough to just note in my mind what I’m grateful for? But I stuck with it, determined to complete 30 days of posting. Below is a sample of my writing.

I am grateful for:

img_20170111_103839Monday ~ photos on my mantel of my grandchildren, whose smiles slide into my heart and make everything in my world right

Tuesday ~ large flakes of snow floating gracefully to the ground reminding me of my youth

 Wednesday ~ the blinding brightness of the sun as it rose over the horizon

Thursday ~ for the peaceful feeling of concentrating on one knit stitch at a time


 

Looking for #Gratitude on Pinterest

1 – Free Printable Templates

by Natashahl on her The Artisan Life Blog (link below)

template

Link

2 -Mandalla Like Formats for Journals

1831822d946b82c9919f9d0a40483e6d

Posted by Jane Rosauschenberg on Pinterest


btw …

Tomorrow-Tuesday January 17th    I have a new book release …vikingghost_cvr_sml

To feed her three children, Widow Abigail Jenkins takes the only job available in Sunset Cove: night cleaner in the notorious, haunted teahouse. She figures the wild, supernatural rumors about the place are pure fiction. After all, ghosts don’t exist.

Eric Eklund, a sexy spirit from Sweden, is over a thousand years old. Having missed his chance at Valhalla, the Viking spends his time roaming the world and gambling. That is, until he sees Abby whose feisty, earthly-spirit turns his ghostly world upside down.

When the two meet sparks fly, but their romance is interrupted by a poltergeist hunting children.

What happens when you mix a naughty Viking ghost, built like a Norse god, a strong woman who suffers no fools and a nasty poltergeist? Answer: another fun Gambling Ghost story.

Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day is a lighthearted novella filled with love, laughter and just enough ghouliness to thrill and chill you to the bone.

Buy Link

Early Bird Price – 99 cents

You can pre-order it today and it will arrive tomorrow.


Credits:

Photo behind my poem – Shutterstock

Construction of my meme – Canva

Jigsaw of a woman – Pixabay

Rose photo – Unsplash

Construction of feature meme – Canva (link above)

Pinterest


Have a great week.

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “The Power of Being You #Gratitude #Mondayblog #New Release”

  1. Great post and I love the examples of your gratitude journal! I always strive to keep something similar myself, but I never manage to stick to it. Trying a Happiness Jar now, to see how that goes! Hopefully you’ll have more ‘stick to it’ than me 🙂 Lovely, heartwarming post!

    Like

    1. Hi Shaun,
      Thanks for the compliment.
      I know what you mean about the stick-to-it-iveness issue. I think I missed that gene, or maybe I’m trying to juggle too many things, but I’m not good at sticking to a practice of gratitude that involves writing it down.
      This time I’m trying a different method for me. I’m putting it on my computer, which I’m on a million times a day, so it should be easy. We shall see. I’m also posting them on FB. I didn’t think people would be interested, but to my amazement they are. I’m learning a lot this month.
      Good luck with your Happiness Jar. I love the idea of it being visual and tactile. I’d love to hear how well it goes for you.
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann
      who is grateful to have the opportunity to chat with readers

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think convenience is key! If it’s in front of you, or if you have to use it anyway (the computer, for instance) then it’s far easier to conduct. Our Jar is in pride of place for that very reason; serving as a visual reminder!

        Like

  2. I loved your poem, ‘Be, just be…’ It reminds me of a book I’m reading called , ‘The Dalai Lama’s cat and the power of the meow’. It’s a delightful introduction to Buddhist philosophy. David Michie has written a whole series of Dalai Lama’s cat books and this one, in particular, dwells on the practice of mindfulness and meditation. Apparently mediation helps with mindfulness. I would have thought it was the other way around. The cat in question has an extremely elevated sense of her own importance and beauty, after all she’s a ‘Himalayan’. The book is written in the first person, i.e. the cat’s 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helena,
      Thank you.
      I love the sound of the book you’re reading and can’t wait to hear more about it. POV of a cat, eh. A Himalayan. lol
      I know how much you like cats, so that must make the book even better.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

