Warning – #Gratitude is Contagious – #Mondayblogs

I can’t remember the first time I heard the word “gratitude,” but I do remember when I first noticed it had become a trendy buzzword. I was watching Oprah and she was talking about her practice of keeping a Gratitude journal.

Who ever heard of a virtue being a cool thing to do?  I thought. How awesome is that? Sometimes, I truly like the way the world spins.

So this month my blog topic is Gratitude -What’s all the fuss about?.

IMG_20160330_070651What exactly is Gratitude?

Dictionary Definition: “Being thankful, appreciation of and inclination to return kindness.”(Oxford Dictionary)

Etymology: “mid-15c., “good will,” from Middle French gratitude (15c.) or directly from Medieval Latin gratitudinem (nominative gratitudo) “thankfulness,” from Latin gratus “thankful, pleasing” (see grace (n.)). Meaning “thankfulness” is from 1560s.” (http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=gratitude)

Wikipedia Notes: “Gratitude is viewed as a prized human propensity in the Christian, Buddhist, Muslim, Jewish, Baha’i, and Hindu traditions. Worship with gratitude to God is a common theme in such religions and therefore, the concept of gratitude permeates religious texts, teachings, and traditions. For this reason, it is one of the most common emotions that religions aim to provoke and maintain in followers and is regarded as a universal religious sentiment.” 

Oprah’s Gratitude Journal

Many people keep gratitude journals, but Oprah made them popular on TV. Have a listen:


To paraphrase her message:,by writing down five things you feel grateful for, every day, “the spiritual dimension in your life begins to change.” You have to write it down because, “there’s power in words.”

Following the Trend

I’m not one to follow trends, but this one has grown because it is more ashutterstock_246265024 contagion of heartfelt joy than a whim of the masses made popular by celebrities. I dare you to try it, if you haven’t already.

When you open your heart to gratitude, the love that resides at its center pulls you in, embraces you and releases you a better person. It is as if you are breathed in and out of humanity, by life’s essence – however you define that.

Although my office is littered with sticky notes that make little sense, stacks of unused and partly used notebooks and numerous electronic devices, I suck at keeping notes. But I believe what she says is true, the experience of being grateful probably is magnified when you write it down.

A fellow writer I follow on Facebook posts three things she is grateful for every day. Because FB is fickle I don’t always see her posts, but when I do I relish in them. They are simply stated and heartfelt, and their sincerity draws me in to a peaceful, serene state of mind. When she says she took a walk with her best friend on the beach, I feel the wind in her face and the warmth in their hearts.

dohjtfxjzfw-levi-xuThere is something truly contagious about the practice of noting how grateful you are. It centers you in the moment and opens your heart to the abundance of life. 

Perhaps, I should write it down.

 


shutterstock_104723360 (1)What do you think?

Do you keep a gratitude journal?

Feel free to comment below, or write post of your own.

Guest Posts

I  welcome others to submit pieces (prose, poetry or drawings) on my theme topics (see 2017 Schedule Page). You are welcome to promote your book at the end of your post. Guest posts will be scheduled on Thursdays. Please contact me by email: connect@jo-anncarson.com, and use the subject line guest blog.


Credits:

I am thankful to other artists and cool software that help me create my blog.

Feature photo: Josh Admaski, Tel Aviv, through Unsplash https://unsplash.com/

Meme: created on Canvahttps://www.canva.com/

Sunrise photo of Departure Bay – my cell phone camera

Rock photo and Question Mark guy – Shutterstock

Water drop – XU through Unsplash (link above)


Just up for pre-order

pirateghost_cvr_lrgConfessions of a Pirate Ghost

Gambling Ghosts Series, Novella 3

Escaping from the clutches of a mobster, art forger Harley Davis dives off his yacht in the middle of the night and swims ashore at Sunset Cove, where the only light she sees comes from inside a teahouse that looks haunted. Soaking wet and shaking, she pauses at the door. No one in their right mind would enter such a creepy place, but she has no choice. Harley needs to hide.

Pirate ghost, Three-Sheets enjoys his extended life on earth, gambling and flirting with the ladies, but when he meets Harley, he discovers he wants more out of death than a good gambling hand.

As the charming Three Sheets woos Harley, her former boss puts a contract on her head.

What do you get when you mix a saucy thief, a pirate ghost and an angry godfather? Another fun Gambling Ghost story.

Confessions of a Pirate is a sweet and saucy fusion of fantasy, adventure and romance guaranteed to lighten your day with laughter, thrill you to the bone with ghosts and touch your heart with love.

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

10 thoughts on “Warning – #Gratitude is Contagious – #Mondayblogs”

  1. Good post!
    When I worked at a job I hated, I used to leave a post-it note on my steering wheel before I walked into the office. I would come back at the end of a discouraging day and read it: “Think of 3 thinks I’m grateful for.”
    Sometimes they were small things, “I’m grateful I made it through this day, I’m grateful my car runs so I can get away from that office, I’m grateful there’s a good song on the radio.” Didn’t matter how small; just the act of thinking of things to be grateful for improved my attitude immensely.

    Like

    1. Hi Evelyn,
      I love this idea. I’ve had hard times at work too and I wished I had thought of this positive way of dealing with it. I bought myself nice coffees and spent more time reading books for pleasure. While it made me feel better, I think your practice of gratitude for would have reached inside me and healed the hurt.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I’ve heard about Gratitude since reading The Secret and learning more and more about the Law of Attraction. A Gratitude Journal is something I’m going to start now.
    Happy New Year, Jo-Ann.

    Like

    1. Hi Emma,
      You’ll have to let me know how the journal goes for you.
      Some of the slick day journals actually set apart a space for noting what you’re grateful for. It really should be an easy thing to do. It doesn’t take a lot of time. It only takes a bit of paper or a laptop and yet I’m still reluctant to put it down. It’s almost as if I think my luck will run out. Sheesh [knocking my knuckles against my forehead]. I should just make the leap.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing. I haven’t read The Secret, but I’ve heard it’s good.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post! I write morning pages and about 50% of the time it’s a gratitude journal. I have quotes all over my writing room, daily planner and at work I have a screen saver of rotating quotes about gratitude and inspiration. There is power in words 🙂

    Like

    1. Marionann,
      Sometimes I write morning pages and have always been impressed with how deep the writing goes. I used to do them on my short ferry commute to work. As the ocean waves hit the hull and the rain beat on the roof of my car, I would explore my world with words.
      I love that your morning journal becomes a gratitude journal. I also love that you surround yourself with positive and inspiring quotes. No wonder you are such a warm and engaging person!
      I’d give a sweet blackberry pie to see the faces of people at your workplace when they catch a glimpse of your screensaver. I bet it touches them too.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

