I Read Edgar Allan Poe

Reading Poe enhances my mood for writing ghost stories. Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“The boundaries which divide Life from Death are at best shadowy and

Gustave Doré [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Gustave Doré [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons – the final scene of the Raven poem
vague. Who shall say where the one ends, and where the other begins?”

***

“All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream. ”

***

“We loved with a love that was more than love.”

***

“Words have no power to impress the mind without the exquisite horror of their reality.”

***

“Invisible things are the only realities.”

***

“There are some secrets which do not permit themselves to be told.”

***

“The scariest monsters are the ones that lurk within our souls…”

***

raven-988218_1280“Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my chamber door —
Only this, and nothing more.” (The Raven, first stanza)


Who was Edgar Allan Poe?

Edgar Allan Poe (… January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849) was an American writer, editor, and literary critic… best known for his poetry and short stories, particularly his tales of mystery and the macabre… widely regarded as a central figure of Romanticism in the United States and American literature as a whole, and he was one of the country’s earliest practitioners of the short story. Poe is generally considered the inventor of the detective fiction genre and is further credited with contributing to the emerging genre of science fiction. He was the first well-known American writer to try to earn a living through writing alone, resulting in a financially difficult life and career.” (Wikipedia)

I first read Poe in my early teens. The power of his writing swallowed me whole; the beauty of his words drew me in while the darkness of his plots held me and haunted my dreams. I could never forget his stories.

My favorite poem is The Raven. My favorite short story is The Tell-Tale Heart. I swear I still hear it beating:)

shutterstock_104723360 (1)How about you? Do you have a favorite poem or story by Poe?


My Ghost series launches on November 13th, but you can pre-order copies now.gambling-ghosts-series

Buy Highlander

Buy Viking    


Credits:

Covers designed by Steven Novak

Graphic created on Canva

Featured Image of Edgar Allan Poe: Wikipedia

Raven Image: Pixabay

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “I Read Edgar Allan Poe”

      1. Thank you, Jo-Ann. I bet we have a lot more in common than Diana Krall and Edgar Allan Poe.
        I hope you have a great day also, my friend! I’m leaving soon to go to holiday fairs with two friends. One is “Deirdre” from my mysteries. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

