ghosts

Making Ghosts Funny – Abbot and Costello

I’ve always been a sucker for funny ghost stories. The first one  I remember watching is Abbot and Costello’s classic movie, Hold That Ghost. I know. I know. It’s really, really old.

Black and White even.

But it played on late night TV when I was a kid and I would sit with a glass of coke and a bowl of chips and laugh my heart out. The humor is timeless.

Here is the trailer:

In this clip you get a glimpse of their impeccable timing. Even though their lines are as predictable as the sun rising in the east, they still make me smile.

Who were Abbot and Costello?

“Abbott and Costello were a comedy double act during the early Classical Hollywood era of American cinema. The team was composed of William “Bud” Abbott and Lou Costello whose work in vaudeville and on stage,radio, film and television made them the most popular comedy team during the 1940s and early 1950s. Their patter routine “Who’s on First?” is one of the best-known comedy routines of all time and set the framework for many of their best-known comedy bits.” (Wikipedia)

BTW: They now they have their own website. I found a lot of their movies on You Tube.


Now my ghost stories don’t have the slap stick humor of an Abbot and Costello movie, but they do have ghosts and they are funny. And sexy. Did I mention sexy?

Coming first:

highlandghost_cvr_medA Highland Ghost for Christmas

Jilted by her fiancé, librarian Maddy Jacobson is nursing a broken heart, when her best friend gives her an early Christmas present. Intended to be a fun, psychic reading in a spooky, tea house, the gift turns out to be life changing. Maddy becomes haunted by a mischievous, Highland ghost.

Ruggedly handsome, Cullen Macfie, the Highlander, has been dead for over three centuries, and never in all those years has he been so attracted to a woman, as he is to Maddy. He falls hopelessly in love and decides to woo her.

Can there be a future for a librarian and a naughty, Highland ghost?

A Highland Ghost for Christmas is a sweet, romantic comedy guaranteed to warm the cockles of your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a man in a kilt … and shortbread, of course.

Click on the cover for the buy link.
 

 

6 thoughts on “Making Ghosts Funny – Abbot and Costello

  1. I can’t wait to read about your Highland ghost. I’ve never thought about writing a ghost into my mysteries. If I did, I think it would be a humorous ghost.

    I never watched Abbott and Costello or The Three Stooges. We weren’t allowed to watch television during the day when we were kids. And so I also didn’t watch cartoons. I don’t feel a loss at all, and to this day I don’t like cartoons, but my husband did watch these programs and loved all of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Susan,
      Thank you. It’s a lighthearted novelette, perfect reading after a day of baking Christmas cookies.
      Wow! Your parents were sure strict about TV, but it doesn’t sound like you missed it. I bet you read a lot of books instead.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting,
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

