Coffee with Boris

Boris

bailey-bunI’m learning about epigenetics in a university class held in Qualicum Beach, a gorgeous sea-side community onboris Vancouver island where they named a street, “Judges Row,” because so many judges retire here. I like to roll into town early and check out the local coffee houses. My favorite so far is Bailey’s.

Because of Boris.

Let me tell you how I met him. Two weeks ago I stood at the front of the ordering line ready to say “coffee.” I had that icky feeling someone was breathing down my neck. I turned to glare at the person intruding in my personal space and met Boris.

I instantly fell in love. He’s a very life-like statue.

All the Halloween decorations rock in this shop and the coffee gets a 7 rating on my scale. I thought I had taken more pictures, but the cyber gremlins must have ate them, or maybe …  Ah yes, maybe. One side effect of writing ghosts stories is that I keep imagining ghosts. And of course blaming them.


What the Heck is Epigenetics?

As I said, the course I’m taking is about epigenetics.

I apologize if my simple, layman terms offend anyone, but what follows is my understanding of the topic. Epigenetics is the study of the environmental factors that affect our DNA. The current thinking being, that who we are is not a question of nature or nurture. Nor is it a question of your DNA, alone. In the field of epigenetics scientists study how different environmental factors shape our genes. So it’s not a question of how do our genes shape us. It’s more a question of how do we shape our genes. It’s fascinating. Truly.

And coffee with Boris makes the forty minute drive worth it. (Not to mention his cinnamon buns. Truly sinful.:)

 


highlandghost_cvr_medMy first ghost story, A Highland Ghost for Christmas,  is up for pre-order. Only ninety nine cents! Click on the cover for the buy link. Currently I’m writing a second ghost story and it’s about a Viking. It’s all great fun.


A Highland Ghost for Christmas 

Jilted by her fiancé, librarian Maddy Jacobson is nursing a broken heart, when her best friend gives her an early Christmas present. Intended to be a fun, psychic reading in a spooky, tea house, the gift turns out to be life changing. Maddy becomes haunted by a mischievous, Highland ghost.

Ruggedly handsome, Cullen Macfie, the Highlander, has been dead for over three centuries, and never in all those years has he been so attracted to a woman, as he is to Maddy. He falls hopelessly in love and decides to woo her.

Can there be a future for a librarian and a naughty, Highland ghost?

A Highland Ghost for Christmas is a sweet, romantic comedy guaranteed to warm the cockles of your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a man in a kilt … and shortbread, of course.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Coffee with Boris”

  1. I’m glad you explained Epigenetics, because I was going to ask what in the world that was. As for Boris, I don’t know. He may scare me. I’d have to meet him first and then decide. Do you go to the coffee shops to write? Hum, maybe Boris tampered with your other photos when you weren’t looking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gina,
      I like your thinking. I’ll blame it on Boris. lol.
      Yes, I do write in coffee shops once or twice a week. I find changing locations fun and to be honest, the eavesdropping helps me with characters.
      Are you a coffee person?
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I am a coffee person even though I can only have decaf now. But I enjoy the taste so much I can’t give it up completely. I’m the result of two coffee drinkers getting together. I get distracted easily so I don’t know if I could work in a coffee shop like you. But hey it obviously works!

    Like

    1. Hi Gina,
      Decaf eh? I’m sorry.
      Yes, there’s something wonderful about the smell and taste of coffee. I’m not sure it it’s because my mind links it with a caffeine hit or good times, but it sure makes me smile.
      Great to chat.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Love your Boris blog! Judge’s Row? Just wondering, isn’t it locally known as Millionair’e’s Row? I could be wrong, but are you talking about the lovely little bungalows right along the beach?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Natasha,
      The street is called Judges Row. On one side there are big houses. On the beach side smaller ones. I suppose the locals might call it millionaire’s row, but I’m not sure.
      It is a gorgeous beach.
      Thanks for stopping by and if you come over to the island I hope you stop by for coffee.
      All the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

