Finding Time to Write – #IWSG #Am Writing

How do I find time to write?

The Zen of WritingThat is this months question from the Insecure Writers Support Group. More about them later.

Writing is an integral part of my life. If I ignore it, I get an uncomfortable feeling in my whole body, which is similar to how I feel when I don’t exercise. It’s somewhere between an itch and a flinch. The feeling that something important is missing. Something fundamental.

I have to write.

I’ve tried, and continue to try, different routines. Mostly I write in the morning after I’ve meditated, exercised and had breakfast, but sometimes life gets in the way and I need to fit it into the afternoon and/or evening. I try not to let that upset me. It’s just life, after all.  My best writing happens when I’m most focused.

This summer I’ve been struggling with a story that literally gives me nightmares because the setting is so dark. I keep putting it away and writing something else. When I pick it up again, to my surprise, I find the words flow like an avalanche. It is as if all those days I left it behind had built up inside me.  I think the story still wants to be finished:)

I’m not sure that what I’ve said is helpful to others, but it’s the truth. My short answer is: I have to write and I do it whenever I can.

For years I put my dreams of writing aside, because I found it too difficult to do while I had a full-time teaching job. I regret that now. My advice to younger people would be to just do it. Even if it’s only fifteen minutes a week. Just do it. Your skills as a writer grow with every word you put out there.

If you find you can’t write there are lots of tricks you can try to get you going. Google it and see what fits for you. In the classroom I found the best practice for motivating students was a timed write. For example I would offer a journal topic and tell them to write about that or anything else for ten minutes. At the end of the ten we would count our words and write the number down at the bottom of the piece where no one but them (and me) could see it. The next day we would write again. The openness of the topic, the set length of time and the individual challenge of adding words made most students write more and their writing skills developed from there.

About the Insecure Writers Support Group

“The Insecure Writer’s Support Group is a home for writers in all stages; from unpublished to bestsellers. Our goal is to offer assistance and guidance. We want to help writers overcome their insecurities, and by offering encouragement we are creating a community of support. ” (from their website). As they say, “Let’s rock the neurotic writing world!” The first Wednesday of every month they post a question and the bloggers write about that question and share their ideas.

I’m looking forward to reading everyone else’s response to this month’s question.


I’m madly reading as many posts by other IWSG writers as I can. One that I absolutely love is: Donna K. Weaver’s blog. It has a Neil Gaimann clip that’s both funny and inspiring.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

7 thoughts on “Finding Time to Write – #IWSG #Am Writing”

  1. I know what you mean about having some regrets about not putting more time into your writing when you were younger. But hey! We still have NOW, right? Writing sustains us, and is almost as necessary as breathing. Only difference is, it gives us more joy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad someone else tries different routines, too! Sometimes I find the break in routine is what catapults my writing into something more…surprising. But certainly the most important thing for me is to make it a daily habit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jo-Ann. I agree with what you say that when it comes to writing to ‘just do it’. Life is too short and as writing has always been a dream of mine, that’s one regret I don’t wish to make. Best of luck with your dark novel, it sounds intriguing and one that wants to be told.

    Like

  4. My little notebook that I carry with me is full of silly stuff like this:
    “I do not want to write. My shirt is a little tight today. I really want a coffee. Was there anything I was supposed to do after work today?”

    I force myself to literally write whatever pops into my head. Sometimes, a story comes out, but most of the time it’s flat nonsense. But it’s all writing – it fuels the mind and kicks the creative processes into gear.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

