Writing Life

My September Courses

Part of being a writer for me, is being a learner and I love that.

Having been a student for many years and then a teacher for many more years, September evokes in me an array bitter-sweet feelings from excitement for new learning opportunities to despair for the loss for the freedom of summer.

Somethings never change. This September I’m taking a couple courses.

  1. Treasure, Artifacts and Curses: Archeology 101 for Writers, with Rachel Grant and Mary Sullivan,Wikipediathrough the Kiss of Death Chapter of the RWA. Here’s the description:
    “Archaeology is the perfect setting for romance, mystery, thrills, and adventure. This workshop is geared toward the writer who wants to weave realistic archaeological details into their story. Archaeology professor and young adult author Mary Sullivan and private sector archaeologist and romantic thriller author Rachel Grant have over twenty years combined experience in the field, lab, office, and classroom.
    Topics covered in this class will include (but are not limited to): common myths and misconceptions; the difference between contract work, academia, and swashbuckling (AKA thievery); the phases of archaeological fieldwork (background research, survey, testing, data recovery, reporting); the basic steps of what to do if you want to conduct an archaeological investigation; the importance of permission and ethics (yes, Indiana Jones was a looter); why a little (pre)history can go a culturally insensitive way (no, not everyone was a cannibal); the tools of the trade: a breakdown of the equipment needed for fieldwork (and which ones make good weapons); what is an artifact and what is garbage (and when garbage is an artifact); how we determine an archaeological site is a site (and why we care); and how to interpret sites from the ground up. is the sad truth about archaeology and fiction: it’s rare when authors get it right. I completely understand why archaeology in novels is so often inaccurate: popular culture misrepresents archaeology all the time. But popular culture gets so many professions wrong; this just happens to be the one we know a thing or two about.” (KOD Website) I’m the moderator for this course, which is already interesting. lol
  2. An Elder College course through Vancouver Island University. I’m not sure which one yet. I’ve narrowed it down to three (i.e., Is Your DNA Your Destiny?, Mini Bridge, or Good Bugs/Bad Bugs) and am waiting until Tuesday to see which one still has room for me. I’ll be teaching a course on publishing with them in January and want to see how the courses run.

So, I have new beginnings this September. I love that.


“Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo da Vinci


Photo credit: Lady in the book: Shutterstock

Egyptian God: Wikipedia

Quote: BrainyQuote

6 thoughts on “My September Courses

  1. I’m right with you, Jo-Ann. September has a ‘back to school’ vibe no matter how long it’s been since you graduated. ‘Archeology 101 for writers’ sounds really intriguing. You must tell me how it goes. I’m happy to have a plotting course to look forward to next week in Port Townsend, Wash. Such a picturesque setting! But I suddenly realized that my passport had expired. I really panicked and then discovered that a trip to Victoria will solve this. Thank goodness!

    Like

    1. Hi Helena,
      We definitely have the “vibe.” I’m thrilled that you’re taking Mary’s course. I’ve attended two of her workshops and taken an on-line course. I think she’s amazing. To be taking the kind of intensive course you’re taking will be awesome. I can’t wait to hear about it. I bet Port Townsend in the fall is gorgeous, too.
      Sorry to hear about the passport problem. At least the new ones are all ten years.
      Wishing you the best, always,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Susan,
      Thank Susan. Being retired is fun. I feel like I’m in an orchard with a variety of fruit and I get to take my time and pick the ones I want. I’ll let you know how the Elder College goes.
      Happy writing,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

