The Struggles of Summer Writing

I tried drawing a cartoon of me looking baffled, stuck between a lovable, plump angel sitting on a cloud above me, and a fierce, red devil below, reaching up with his pitch fork, but it ended up being a gray smear of erased pencil.

In my imagination the angel sang, “Be happy. You can do it,” to the melody of Pharrell Williams’ Happy

The devil countered in a gravelly voice, “Go to the beach,” with the unmistakable melody of the Animal’s song House of the Rising Sun playing in the background.

As we hit mid-summer, I feel pulled in different directions. Do I feed my muse with sunshine, or coax her to put words on paper? My story bubbles in my head wanting out and I don’t want to lose those ideas, but there is more to my life than that. Much more.

When I write weather conditions melt away regardless of the season, but it’s not the heat that stalls me in July and August. It’s the fun. The fun of being with friends and family, the laughter of grandchildren, the chill of ocean waves on a hot day …  the taste of ice-cream.

My muse is confused, but I’m happy. Very happy.

Hope you are too.


 

Featured Image from Pixabay.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

11 thoughts on “The Struggles of Summer Writing”

  1. Totally get what you are saying. I feel the same! I try to write for a couple of hours early morning and then spend the core of the day having fun but feeling likeI’ve done my duty to my writing too. Don’t always manage it though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ellie,
      When I first started this writing gig that was my plan, but life gets in the way, mostly in wonderful ways. lol. I imagined Hemingway’s lifestyle. He wrote in the morning and fished in the afternoon. It sounded so romantic.
      But many writers pump out three books a year and are active on SM. Some do it well, but others publish first drafts. Regardless of the quality of their work, their name remains on people’s screens. SM rewards those who provide constant content.
      So as I enjoy the summer sunshine I ponder how I can find a comfortable pace and place in the midst of this frantic publishing world.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding to the conversation. It sounds like you have found a routine that works well for you.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Love this post! There is definitely more to life than writing. Still I enjoy my assigned two days each week.

    You are a talented artist. Besides writing, your cartoon was great. I wish I could draw like that. I bought a book DRAWING ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE BRAIN. I need to take time to go through it.

    Enjoy your summer., Jo-Ann while still writing. I know writing feeds your soul.

    Like

    1. Hi Susan,
      You are too kind. Thank you for complimenting my writing.
      Your routine fascinates me. I like how it allows you lots of free time to be with your family and friends. And I especially like that you have tamed your muse to perform on command. That’s really cool. I love your books and knowing that you do it in your own way inspires me.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      Oh… I didn’t make that cartoon. It’s from Pixabay. My attempts didn’t work out so well.

      Like

  3. Your post really resonated with me. Summer is for beach time, ice cream and family time. My son just spent a week with me and it was fabulous – but nothing got done. I don’t regret a minute of it. But, now to try and harness myself into some sort of writing routine – one with some flexibility built in (?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helena,
      I’m so glad your handsome son came to visit. What a treat for him and you. I can see you understand exactly how I feel. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who can’t wait to get her hands on your new book.

      Like

  4. I love your music pics. My son has officially moved out and I’m off work due to foot soon – all this writing time – and yet! I do notice new characters are coming to life in my mind so I’m telling myself it’s muse time. We shall see.

    You are a talented writer though. And though I know there’s a constant, incessant demand for content – do you really pick your favorite books by the SM presence of their author?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat,
      You are so right. I absolutely do not pick books because they’re authors are good tweeters or FB mavericks. Once again, you give me a sane perspective.
      Thank you for calling me talented too.
      So your nest is empty! Congratulations. I notice most people experience a revolving door for the next decade, but that’s fun too. I’d love to hear your new story ideas. I hope they involve more chocolate and your wicked sense of humor.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

