Writing Dark is … dark

I’m writing a post-apocalyptic story, because the setting creates a rich, fertile backgound in which I can develop characters and stories. Even though it’s dark, I thought my tale could be one of light. After all, what is more inspiring than a story about characters who have endured the worst thing that could possibly happen to them and carried on to create a better world, or at least the hope of one. Is that not what we all want?

But the post-apoc, world-setting is still dark, at least for me.  Everyday I re-enter the world I’ve created, peopled with lost souls, psychos, bullies and a few good people. What I see is that humanity doesn’t look good when you strip away the toys and comforts of civilization. And the more I think about it, the darker it looks.

Am I whining? Yes and no. I think a part of me has to conquer or at least come to peace with the setting to make it work.

That’s where my head is as I reach the halfway point in my first draft. I’ll let you know if it gets easier.

But then maybe it’s not meant to. It is writing after all:)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “Writing Dark is … dark”

  1. Have you been watching the TV show 12 Monkeys – a reimagining of the movie? It’s now in season 2 and fiendishly complex so if you haven’t seen it and want to check it out you’d best start at the beginning. They too have part of the show set in the post apocalyptic world and it too is a very dark place but they offset that darkness by showing one character in particular moving from a dark place emotionally to a more positive and hopeful outlook and it, together with a chaste love story, provides the light and shade the story needs. It strikes me that you as a writer are on a similar journey to feel at ease with your book. I hope you figure it out because it sounds a fascinating read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ellie,
      I haven’t watched the 12 Monkeys, but I will now. I love how you describe the writer’s use of dark and light. Thank you for your encouragement. It would help if I could have a light theme right from the beginning. More to think about.
      Again, thank you.
      And thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

