The Taste of Summer

A slice of ice-cold watermelon on the hottest day of the year.

Blackflies swallowed in the breeze.

The first rainbow Popsicle of the season.

The plump, juicy blackberry you had to stand on your tip toes to reach through the thick thorny brambles.

Salt water dripping down your face from an ocean swim at dawn.

Strawberry-rhubarb pie after burgers on the grill, as the sun sets over the water.

Spot Prawns dipped in melted butter.

A Crab feast on a boat with friends.

A simple picnic of baguette and cheese with PJ.

Fresh halibut.

Peanut butter and jam sandwiches on the beach with grandkids.

I am so grateful for it all.

How about you? Any to add?


BTW

17 hours left (as of 7am PST) for my Goodreads Giveaway. Over 700 entries so far.

 

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Ain't Misbehavin' by Jo-Ann Carson

Ain’t Misbehavin’

by Jo-Ann Carson

Giveaway ends June 29, 2016.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/widget/190467

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

5 thoughts on “The Taste of Summer”

  1. My mouth watered at your descriptions. Or puckered slightly at the thought of ice cold lemonade. Summer means simpler times with to do lists forgotten. And yet these are the days that last a lifetime in our memories. Have a wonderful summer Jo-Ann

    Like

    1. Hi Pat,
      Thank you for your well wishes. I hope your summer is filled with sunshine and good memories too. I love your line, “Summer means simpler times with to do lists forgotten. And yet these are the days that last a lifetime in our memories.” Brilliant writing, my friend.
      Best always
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. What a great list! I used to have red raspberry bushes in my yard before I moved. I liked to try to beat the birds to eat them. We have the best local produce around here to in the summer. A few weeks of strawberries, and soon local tomatoes and sweet corn will be ready. Also a great time to relax on the porch with my puppies and kindle with the sounds of my creek and the birds in the background. Hope your summer is all that you wish it to be.

    Like

    1. Hi Gina,
      I love fresh raspberries. We had bushes in the yard of our first house, and my toddler would go out and pick them. Great memories. I love the berry season.
      I envy you your puppies and your yard. Your summer spot sounds wonderful.
      Thank you for your good wishes. I have family coming and going for the next month and then a new granddaughter will arrive in August. I’m so excited about seeing everyone, I can hardly sit still.
      Wishing you the best, always,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Great list, Jo-Ann. I’d add sunshine in my backyard with robins singing their hearts out and roses opening their peach colored blossoms one by one.
    A new grandchild in August – lucky you! Can’t wait to hear all about it. Have a good summer with your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

