How to Use Canva to Create Ads – 6 easy steps

One – Go to Canva.com

It’s a friendly site that helps you create great graphics.

Two – Choose a Design

There are many design sizes to choose from. Make sure you click on “More,” so that you can see just how many are available. Everything from e-mail headers to book covers.

The one I use most is the Facebook Post, as this size works well on blogs, twitter and FB. Click it, or whichever design interests you.

Three – Choose a Background

Most of my backgrounds are black. It’s a habit I picked up as a teacher. A black background frames everything nicely. But you can choose any color you wish and best of all, you can change it later. Plain colors are free. There are many interesting backgrounds you can pay for and they are inexpensive (most of them are a dollar USD).

Four – Upload Images

You can choose one of their images, or upload an image of your own from your computer.

Five – Add Text

Most of the time I use the plain text, which I choose from the menu on the left side of the page. The two things I remind myself at this stage are: 1) add my website 2) add the buy link. You wouldn’t believe how many times I forget.

Six – Download

If you’re happy with everything, hit download. If a part of your design costs money, this is when they will charge you. Pick up your design from your download file and save it wherever you want it.


Why am I doing this today?

A good, cyber-buddy of mine from Texas, romantic-suspense writer Marsha West, asked me to explain how I use Canva to create my ads. I hope people find it useful.

P.S. There are lots of You Tube videos about using Canva btw. What I’ve described is just the beginning.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “How to Use Canva to Create Ads – 6 easy steps”

    1. You’re welcome Marsha. I feel so bad about your ankle injury (for those who don’t know – Marsha broke her ankle and is recovering from surgery. She has to keep her ankle above her heart.), I thought the least I could do is answer your request for a how-to post on Canva. When you are feeling up to trying it, don’t hesitate to call me. I can help over the phone, Apple Facetime, or Google Hangouts if you wish. It won’t take you long to pick it up.
      In the meantime, I hope you have a good pile of books to read.
      all the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

