Saturday Coffee

Saturday Coffee with Writers 16-06-11

When I get together with writing friends over coffee we talk about our work. I love these gatherings. They inspire me.

I’m going to try to emulate that experience here on Saturdays. I’m asking participants to share their favorite lines from their writing this week and/or their readings. For brevity sake I ask that pieces be 1 to 5 lines. You can add buy links and your website, if you wish, at the end.

I’ll start:

My favorite line(s) from my readings this week:

51Msb9xNppL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_
click for buy link

In this line Franki Amato the feisty, detective heroine in Traci Andrighetti’s, Limoncello Yellow…, is describing coming home to her apartment in New Orleans. The book is hilarious btw.

“My bordello-style apartment  constantly reminded me that I wasn’t having sex, and the cemetery reminded that I was going to die. Now I definitely needed a drink.”

 

 

 


Some favorite lines from my writing:

AintMishehavin_CVR_LRG
click for buy link

“Inspector Peterson from the Vancouver Police Department strode through the front door, took one look around and headed straight towards her. Gravel voice. Of course it would be him. Of all the policemen in this fine town, and of all the Italian restaurants . . . His eyes cut through the distance between them like razor blades, bringing the memory of the last time she dealt with him back to her with the clarity of a hammer blow between the eyes. He stopped a foot in front of her and nailed her with his cop glare. “Why do men get murdered around you?” (ending of the first paragraph)

 


Your turn. I can’t wait to read your lines. Everyone’s welcome.

Just comment below.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Saturday Coffee with Writers 16-06-11

  1. Hi Jo-Ann I’m working on something called Cinderella Doesn’t Live Here anymore – or trainwreck girl as I like to call her. I started it after talking to Lou-Allen one day when she said try Reluctant Readers, they’re only 20,000 words so it’s short. Then she died and I put it away. Anyway she’s a 20 something waitress who’s partner has just been found shot dead in an alley and who’s family wants her not to her not to exist. Things will turn around for her by the end of the book I promise you but….

    It still made her mad though. She was his wife really, and she was being totally dissed. It just wasn’t right.
    Zoe and Abby agreed. “You’d totally rock it!” they said.
    “Anyway, I don’t want to get into a fight with Matt’s family,” she declared bravely. “I’ve decided to take the highway.”
    “The what?
    “The high, oh never mind. I’m going to rise above petty concerns and do my best to honor Matt’s memory. I’ve got a black lace dress that’ll be perfect. I bought it when Matt and I went clubbing once but nobody needs to know that. And I’ve got a black veil too.”

    She is so not me that I’m having a lot of fun writing her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pat,
    I love this story. I can’t wait to read it. Great theme.
    Thanks do much for sharing.
    I’m in bed sick with a cold. Reading your piece cheered me right up. TQ
    all the best
    Jo-Ann

    Like

Leave a Reply

