Saturday Coffee

Saturday Coffee with Writers and Readers 16-06-04

IMG_20160302_091750When I get together with writing friends over coffee we talk about our work. I love these gatherings. They inspire me.

I’m going to try to emulate that experience here on Saturdays. I’m asking participants to share their favorite lines from their writing this week and/or their readings. For brevity sake I ask that pieces be 1 to 5 lines. You can add buy links and your website, if you wish, at the end.

I’ll start:

My favorite line(s) from my writing this week:

Written from a warrior’s POV: “The weasel stood five-foot ten. Solid muscle too. But he didn’t use his body to fight. He was a man of words, lots and lots of words, and most of them were empty. Bullshit, diplomatic crap. People survived by scavenging these days. But not Amar. He survived by words.” (from my post-apoc, wip, working title The Awakening)

My favorite line(s) from my readings this week:

thestand“He didn’t want to be here under the dirty grey washtub sky, smelling New York exhaust, one hand constantly playing pocket pool with his wallet to make sure it was still there.” Stephen King, The Stand

 

Your turn. I can’t wait to read your lines. Everyone’s welcome.

Just comment below.

6 thoughts on “Saturday Coffee with Writers and Readers 16-06-04

  1. Thank you, Jo-Ann.

    “Another holiday, another murder. At least no one got murdered at Thanksgiving dinner! How did I end up, in the season of peace and goodwill toward men, investigating another homicide?” ~ Kay Driscoll in Murder Under the Tree

    The Ginseng Conspiracy (A Kay Driscoll Mystery Book 1) – http://amzn.to/1oPTsiw
    Murder Under the Tree (A Kay Driscoll Mystery Book 2) – http://amzn.to/1tC5krR
    Murder by Fireworks (A Kay Driscoll Mystery Book 3) – http://amzn.to/1MBKRd4

    Like

  2. Fun idea Jo-Ann. Here are a couple of lines I’ve always liked from my new book Summer of Fortune, to be released June 17.

    Jake, she reminded herself, wasn’t part of The Plan. In fact, he was counter to The Plan. A fly in the ointment. A spanner in the works.
    The spice in the sauce.

    Like

  3. Love this idea Jo-Ann! Here are a few lines from my memoir, My Name is not Mary-Ann,

    When you’re five, or at least when Marion Ann was five she was sensitive and shy only because that’s what her mother told people. She said, “Oh she’s shy,” and all of a sudden I was very aware that Marion Ann was afraid to get close to people or to talk to them because she was “shy.” Words really do shape who you are.

    I am also reading (for the fourth or fifth time), Writing Down the Bones and I just reviewed this last night:

    Writing is deeper than therapy. You write through your pain, and even your suffering must be written out and le go of. ~ Natalie Goldberg

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

