Feeling Frisky – Off the Noise Wagon

I’ve stopped blogging like I used to.

I used to write what I imagined my audience wanted. That sounds like a good idea, but it’s not. Not for me at any rate. The result was/is that I produced blog posts much like everyone else’s. Sometimes better. Often worse.

But, as I said yesterday, I’m not a fan of noise. So today I am declaring: I am officially off the “noise wagon.”

I’ll continue to write factual posts when I think what I have to say will not be found elsewhere. I enjoy sharing some of my book reviews, writing summaries of writing workshops and conferences and giving my two cents worth on writing tools such as Scrivener. I also like hosting other writers. I think those kinds of posts are useful to both my readers and myself.

But I’m steering away from Hack -Titled posts, such as: Ten Top Secrets of a Nymphomaniac Writer with Four Toes and a diamond tongue ring- A How to Guide to Orgasmic Prose. Such posts spike the stats, but I’m trying to be less concerned about that, and more concerned about connecting with people.

Ultimately that’s what I want my blog to do – connect with you.

Jo-Ann


Photo credit: Pixabay

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

14 thoughts on “Feeling Frisky – Off the Noise Wagon”

  1. Hear, hear… I’m so sick of “list posts” that regurgitate all the same old information for a cheap spike in the numbers… although the post you mentioned does sound quite interesting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Al,
      Thanks for the support. I`ve been on the edge for some time. Reading Seth Godin pushed me over.
      I love the sound of the term, orgasmic prose. Maybe I`ll do something with it sometime, but not with the toes:)
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been watching hours of his presentations on You Tube. I might canvas the local used book stores for his books. Let me know how you like the one you chose. Cheers,Jo-Ann Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gina,
      Thank you. My cheeks are burning. It`s wonderful having readers like you appreciate my work. You made my week.
      As I said to Al, I think I`m going to write about orgasmic prose someday¸
      Best always,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I hear you. There’s alot of ‘chatter’ out there. And it can be like tumbling down a well. Sometimes it’s just plain overwhelming and by the end of the day – I’m wondering ‘so what’.
    So reframing, and refocusing is always a good thing. This writing gig is like being embraced by a giant octopus. So many arms trying to pull at you. At least, that’s what it feels like to me.
    Says Jodie – trying not to drown in the waves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jodie,
      I love your image of an octopus pulling at us. I totally agree. You do hear me.
      Thanks for adding to the conversation.
      Best always,
      Jo-Ann
      who is treading water a little north of you:)

      Like

  3. I think it’s great, Jo-Ann, that you aren’t going to write what you imagine your audience wants. When I started my website (and was trying to hook an agent…lol.) I still wrote what I wanted. I made up stories about my characters, had guest posts from others on whatever they wanted to write about as long as it had something to do with my books. For example, my husband wrote about sound wood since he handcrafts guitars. That was definitely an appropriate topic for my mysteries.

    Life is too short to write what you think others want to hear on websites or in books. Write what you love, what you are excited about, what makes you tick and it usually will follow through that your readers will enjoy the stories more. They will know what you wrote you loved. There is so much crap out there.

    Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

