When Buzz Becomes Noise

Buy my bookDo ads get on your nerves?

They do mine.

I grit my teeth when I see some book promotions. It’s not that they’re poorly constructed. For the most part, they’re eye-catching.

Who doesn’t like seeing  a provocative image,  intriguing tag line, and killer title – but that’s not the point. The first time is great. But I keep seeing the same ad over and over, on every one of my social platforms, promoted by everyone I know, until I’m ready to scream, “Enough all ready! I can’t take it anymore.”

Twitter and FB become echo chambers playing a buy-me-dirge.

I get it. I do. We’re all trying to create a “buzz” about our stories, but too often what we create instead is “noise.” A deafening, I-want-to-unfollow-you, get-out-of-my-face, noise.We see our competition put out three ads, so we put out four. We drain our pockets and put ads up everywhere hoping to lure a bigger audience. We want to be the next overnight success.

But it doesn’t work that way. At least not for most of us. The only thing we get overnight is a hangover.

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

12 thoughts on “When Buzz Becomes Noise”

  1. Hey, Jo-And. I probably don’t enough posts about my books. Most of the ones are done on my FB author page, which I sometimes copy to my main page. Mainly, I’m worried about being a pain as you mention. But it’s hard not to jump on that bandwagon when you see others doing it and getting great sales. Well, we chose this life of an author with all it’s wonderful ups and not so fun downs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marsha,
      I don’t find you pushy at all.
      I think we need to aim for a fine balance. For example Jerrie Alexander and Toni Anderson do it really well on FB and they’re both highly successful. They let us know about their promotions and new releases, but they don’t drown us in ads.
      Some people overdo it and the result is unpleasant. There is a difference between informing and beating someone on the head.
      I also believe that ultimately our writing, should sell itself over time.
      Congratulations again on your new lake house.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. The support of my fellow authors, particularly you Jo-Ann, is amazing and nourishing and so important. I think putting up with the ads is part of that support. I’m just at that point right now with two new books, my first, out this month and wondering how to get the word out without inundating my friends. I think Marsha is right that that’s what the FB author page is for, but I have way more “friends” on my profile. And really, most of them are authors, not readers. How to connect with readers is the problem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Judy,
      Aaah, thank you Judy.It’s all about sharing. I too have greatly benefited from my community of writing friends, which includes you.
      Facebook is interesting. I have more than double the number of followers on my regular Facebook account compared to my author page (i.e., approximately over 1,000 to 500) but generally my individual posts reach 10 to 20 people. If a post picks up traction it will go further. But to ensure people see my stuff I have to pay to boost it, or run an ad. Facebook is all about money, not about connecting friends.
      Your graphic images and covers are gorgeous and people will want to see them and share them, not only because they are aesthetically beautiful but also because your work is the culmination of ten years of writing and are your first books. I doubt you will overdo it.
      I’m looking forward to watching your launch unfold.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Nearly every book on promoting your book says you should be active on Facebook and Twitter and other social media. I’m afraid there are plenty of people who take that to mean “spam your followers and browbeat them into buying your books.” I don’t mind the occasional ad for their latest work, or letting me know their books are on sale, but when every tweet or Facebook post is about “buy my book,” and you get a message from them every five minutes, that’s abusing the relationship. And don’t get me started on the people who DM you when you follow them and tell you to follow them on Facebook and Amazon…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi John,
      I have to say I love the name of your blog. I’ll be over there checking it out soon.
      I love your comment and totally agree with everything you say about spamming and those horrid DMs. It amazes me how people who would never be rude in person, find it so easy to be rude on SM.
      Thanks for dropping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. The same salesman came banging at the door after I’d ignored him the first four times that day, and it wasn’t good. A friend selling through an MLM biz said she knows no means yes after I’d said no many times, and that wasn’t good. And that’s exactly what authors are doing by screaming, “Buy my book” on social media constantly. It doesn’t work. It turns people off. Thank you for not being part of that noise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Debbie,
      Thanks for adding to the conversation. I’m glad I’m not alone. I’d like to close the door on the noise.
      Your door to door salesman is a great analogy.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who is thrilled you are now following my blog

      Like

Leave a Reply

