Smart #Bloggers Know 3 Rules

Or do they?

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. ” ~  Alvin Toffler

Readers are changing and blogs are becoming less popular. Stories along with the pace of life are speeding up at an alarming speed that’s hard to comprehend, much less predict.

bruce-almighty-typing-animated

What to do?

In my wee mind’s eye I see bloggers throwing words into cyberspace hoping for human ears to catch them. But when we all throw the same words they lose their power, and if we all throw them with the same curve, the pitch becomes boring. In short, if we rely on what worked in the past, we are not ready for today, let alone tomorrow.

What happened to my three rules? Let’s see what your think:

One – Don’t do what you did yesterday

Even if it was successful. It won’t work. At least, not for long. Create new and engaging content every day.clock-1081437_1920

Two – Use lots of graphics and some video

The audience loves it. Btw, I don’t think it’s a short attention span issue. I think it’s an enhanced sensory input issue.

Three – Give your audience value

Remember they came to your blog for something. Whether it’s fashion advice on shoes or a good yarn about living in the Arctic circle with wolves, they have chosen to spend fifteen minutes of their precious time reading your blog for a reason. Give them what they want and they will return.

I remember one blogging guru,I read a few years back, said the first sentence in your post should state exactly what you are giving them. Such a practice makes the post sound rigid, but you know what I mean.

There are other things to be said about how to write a good blog, but these three rules have been banging around in my head this week, so I thought I’d share them.


“Change is not merely necessary to life – it is life.” ~― Alvin Toffler


Who Knows What?

shutterstock_104723360 (1)Am I an expert on blogging? Heck no. But I am a blogger and this is my three cents. What do you think? Care to add some change:)

 


Static Images: courtesy of Pixabay.com

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

10 thoughts on “Smart #Bloggers Know 3 Rules”

  1. Interesting list. I’d add in “make it easy for your reader”. This would cover the font you use, the layout of your blog (not using garish backgrounds that make it impossible to read, for example), some basic adherence to grammar and spelling at least, breaking up the text with headings (and maybe graphics/visuals), and KEEPING IT SHORT! I follow a lot of poetry blogs, and if I see something that’s as long as the Rime of the Ancient Mariner, I don’t even start… I just don’t have time. So, edit hard. Be concise. (Look at Seth Godin’s blog for an example of how to do this in the business world.)

    Combine this with some value to me, and I’ll come back.

    🙂

    Like

      1. No problem Jo-Ann. I would also have added “never apologise”, but that’s more a bugbear than a dealbreaker !

        (I can’t stand posts that begin “sorry I haven’t posted since…” – really, apologise to your mother if you haven’t been in touch. The rest of us aren’t owed anything! And realistically, haven’t been sitting idly by a laptop for an update with nothing else going on in their lives)

        Like I said, bugbear!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Al
        I totally agree with you about apologies on blogs. They’re a useless waste of space. But, I have to admit I have done it in the past thinking I owed my readers something. But no more. I’m trying to get right to the point these days.
        I love Seth Godin!!! What a find. Thanks for the tip. He’s so right-on and concise and well spoken and… My list could go on.
        You made my day.
        Best
        Jo-Ann

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve only been following him online so far, but have “All Marketers Are Liars” and “Permission Marketing” on my wishlist, as they fit best with where I want to develop next

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been blogging only for a couple years and already I see that things are changing so fast. I even hear people saying blogging is dead. It was the thing to do 10 yers ago, but not anymore.
    I don’t think this is true. Social media are fine and fun, but I don’t think any of them can offer the kind of involvment and value a blog can offer.
    Well, at least, this is my feeling… and I am no expert 😉

    Like

    1. Hi Jazz,
      They have been saying blogging is dead for years. They said that about the phone too.
      A speaker on social media turned my head around when he said something to the effect that your message lasts fifteen seconds on Twitter, fifteen minutes on Facebook and forever on a blog. Blogs are searchable, so anyone interested in the topic can find it (especially if you blog enough to get your titles high up on the search lists).
      I’m not expert, but my advice is blog your content, then Tweet and FB the blog post. You’ll get more mileage that way.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

