Meditation and Writing – Where Does One End and the Other Begin?

stones-1372677__340What I’m not talking about:

There are tons of scholarly articles on meditating through writing, but that’s not what I’m talking about. There are also a plethora of guides on-line about how to use one to achieve the other. A good example is Jane Brunette’s article in the Huffington Post, How to Use Writing as a Meditation Practice.

Writing can be a powerful meditation practice, helping us to integrate our active mind with the mind of meditation. By using it as a process of inquiry, it can help us track our progress in loosening attachments and habitual states of mind even as it sharpens our ability to attend to the present moment. As little as 10 minutes of writing practice a day can reap great benefits. (Jane Brunette, Huffington Post, link above)

But that’s not what I’m talking about.

What I am talking about:

prairie-679014__180I don’t want to use writing to achieve or enhance meditation, or vice versa. Though I am sure there are many interesting practices, such as the one suggested above.

What I want to address is how the two practices weave together. The way the mind works steaming the unconscious, the imagination and reality into thoughts and ideas fascinates me.

I meditate twice a day and have done so for decades. I am no guru or expert in any way, but my meditation practice is an essential part of my life, as much a part of me as my next breath.

I have been writing seriously for five years.

I notice that when I write I go deep inside myself to another realm. Not all the time, but a lot of the time. Actually the best times. Words and images flow through my mind faster than I can type and they scramble themselves onto my page.

I don’t experience the stillness of meditation when I write, but I do experience a deeper sense of self, and I emerge changed.

So I wonder: where does one end and one begin.

Consider Meditation

“Nowhere can man find a quieter or more untroubled retreat than in his own soul.” ~Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

“Meditation practice isn’t about trying to throw ourselves away and become something better, it’s about befriending gerbera-1346587_1280who we are.”  Ani Pema Chodron

“Quiet the mind, and the soul will speak.” ~Ma Jaya Sati Bhagavati

“Meditation is not a means to an end. It is both the means and the end.” ~Jiddhu Krishnamurti

Consider Writing

“It ain’t whatcha write, it’s the way atcha write it.”
—Jack Kerouac, WD

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.”
—Ernest Hemingway

“Let the world burn through you. Throw the prism light, white hot, on paper.”
—Ray Bradbury, WD

“Writers live twice.”
—Natalie Goldberg

The Zen of Writing

References

Quote Garden

2 Quotes on Meditation

72 of the Best Quotes About Writing

 


Any thoughtsshutterstock_104723360 (1)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Meditation and Writing – Where Does One End and the Other Begin?”

  1. Writers live twice – I love Natalie Goldberg and I love this post! I have been meditating seriously for over 8 years now and I also believe that writing and meditation weave within one another. Most of the time when I write I also go into another realm, a hour can go by and it feels like only a minute, I love that!
    Great post Jo-Ann, thank you for sharing your practices.

    Like

    1. Hi Marion Ann,
      Thank you for your kind words.
      I agree time does fly when I’m in the writing zone too. The way time shrinks and bends when I write is another commonality I should have mentioned.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation
      Namaste
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Where does one end and one begin?” is a good question. I’ve been journaling for years, Julia Cameron style and know it make my words flow. I do a Reiki style meditation daily and always come away with a soothed spirit. I love the time-travel aspect of writing but I’ve only experienced the time shrinking when my writing is going well. Then there are the other days.

    Like

    1. Hi Helena,
      I hope you have fewer “other days” as the sun shines brightly on your patio writing spot.
      Julia Cameron’s writing pages are very popular. They do get the juices the flowing. Someday you’ll have to tell me about your Reiki practice.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I know what you mean about going into another world and losing yourself in it. It’s part of what makes writing so special for me and I do love Natalie Goldberg and her quote. Sadly, I very rarely take the time to meditate properly so I can’t really comment on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat,
      I admire people like you who spend long days making our hospitals function. My hat goes off to you. I hope you take time for yourself too.
      I like your phrase, “losing yourself” in your writing. That’s exactly what I feel too.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      All the best,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

