Can’t Keep Up? Redefine Your Morning Ritual

Ever feel like you just can’t get it all done?

I know the feeling. It’s as if you’re sinking in a pool of quicksand that smells a lot like dog poop. You’ve got nothing tohelp-792922__180 pull yourself out with and if anyone is standing near by they aren’t helping. They’re laughing. Ever feel like that?

Me too.

I remember when I had a full time job, two kids, a husband and an hour and half commute. I’d get home and have fifteen minutes to execute dinner. That’s when I’d remember I had company too. Life gets hectic.

But to be honest that hectic-ness  had never been my main problem. I have a really stupid habit of adding more to my to-do list than I can actually do, then feeling really lousy about myself when I don’t get it all done, and worst of all, finishing my day beating myself up for not getting as much writing done as I expected.

What to do?sunflower-1127174_960_720

There’s lots of self-help gurus out there and books on how to live the perfect life or how to commit suicide. One or the other genres may solve your problem. It’s important to experiment, but holy guacamole you need to be careful when you apply other people’s ideas to your own life. It’s like borrowing someone’s clothes and expecting them to fit. Often they don’t.

prairie-679014__180What Works for Me

I work on my morning ritual. I’m not saying this is the answer for everyone, I’m just saying this is what works for me.

My latest version: I rise at 6, meditate to 6:20, write three affirmations, do a one page write, and a few stretches. It’s my time.

How you start your day matters a lot. You need time for yourself. Time to connect to what’s important to you. Time to reflect on your sand box. At least that’s what I need.

I googled morning rituals and found there are many ideas out there. No surprise. The one that made me laugh: smile at your self in the mirror for three minutes. Really? Seriously? Many made me tired before I began, because they involved too much stuff.

I think the best morning ritual is the one you design yourself, to meet your needs, to feed your spirit.


Three Morning Quotes:

“When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.” ~Marcus Aurelius (via Brainyquote)

“Love. Fall in love and stay in love. Write only what you love, and love what you write. The key word is love. You have to get up in the morning and write something you love, something to live for.” ~Ray Bradbury (via Brainyquote)

“Morning is an important time of day, because how you spend your morning can often tell you what kind of day you are going to have.” ~ Lemony Snicket, The Blank Book


I’d love to hear what you think.shutterstock_104723360 (1)

 

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

11 thoughts on “Can’t Keep Up? Redefine Your Morning Ritual”

  1. Love when you said, “you need to be careful when you apply other people’s ideas to your own life. It’s like borrowing someone’s clothes and expecting them to fit.” I’m finding getting up at 6 am is working for me. I love the calm hush outside and the feeling that anything might be possible each morning…including lots of new words written by 7 am 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jacqui,
      Thanks. It sounds like it’s really working for you. I love writing in the morning too.
      I’ve just added the affirmation part to my ritual and it’s helping me keep more focused.
      I love these sunny mornings.
      Namaste
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Your routine sounds lovely. I get my alone time lying in bed and coming to life slowly. It’s when I find the solutions to yesterday’s schedule, set a few priorities for the day. Make some decisions before the other voices in my head wake up. I am lucky not to have to jump out of bed and run. Although, I too remember those days. lol

    Like

    1. Hi Judy,
      And your ritual sounds wonderful to me. It’s like you gather all your thoughts and inspiration before the day begins. It’s nice that we have more time in our lives now, but I still manage to get myself over-busy. lol. Seeking a balance.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Namaste
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. What an inspiring post, Jo-Ann. I love that you meditate for twenty minutes each morning. My husband does daily and I always intend to. I need to allow myself the time for this practice.

    Since my husband retired I have decrease my writing days from parts of five days to two full time days. It is working well for me. I start about 8 a.m. and go to 3 p.m. At that time I take my daily three mile walk. I’ve found that since I only have the two days, I make them count and they seem more productive than when I had five days.

    Of course, there are times when I do additional writing. This week we are visiting a resort area in northeastern Wisconsin for a few days. I plan to write in the car the five hours there and back.

    Thank you. I enjoyed this post also because it gave me a sense of comradery with you and the other authors who commented. Writing is such a solitary occupation.

    Like

    1. Hi Susan,
      Thank you for your compliments. You are too kind.
      I love hearing how people manage their creativity. I’m amazed with how much you get done in two days. You are very focused. A resort area in Wisconsin sounds like a wonderful getaway. I hope you post pictures. I’m heading to the big city, Vancouver where I’ll get to go to a writing conference and play with my grandkids. I can’t wait.
      Getting away always refuels my spirit.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your routines. They are as unique and perfect as your writing.
      Best Wishes
      Jo=Ann

      Like

  4. I love your morning routine and really agree that no one way works for everyone. Since I work a revolving rotation at the hospital my morning routine changes depending on the shift. 545 start time I hit the snooze button until I realize any longer and I’ll never make it. Then I hit the ground running, barely stopping to get that first life-giving jolt of caffeine. Graveyard shift I go to bed about 8:00 in the morning and sleep, hopefully until about two in the afternoon. If I work afternoons I sleep until 8 or nine and spend the morning writing. We all do what we do to come up with what works best for ourselves. I love the idea of meditation every morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat,My hat goes off to you and your colleagues who do shift work at hospitals so that we have round the clock health care. I would find that really hard. I’m not sure there’s enough coffee in the city to get me through a night shift. The first cranky customer might need a new head after I dealt with them. I just can’t imagine how tough it must be. I’m sure you have plenty of stories and I hope you add them to your books some day.But it sounds like you have it worked out. Again kudos to you.I’ve been meditating twice a day  for over forty years. It keeps me happy and connected.I agree everyone needs to work out their own routine s.Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.NamasteJo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You are and I are similar in our morning rituals. I wake up at 4:45am (on days I work early at my full time job) and I write Morning Pages, three long hand pages of whatever is on my mind, I keep writing no matter what. The I go to the gym for about an hour or so, then get ready for work at 8:30/9am – I love waking up early in the morning when everyone else is asleep, there is this sense of stillness that is part of my morning ritual that prepares me for the day.
    Great post Jo-Ann!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marion Ann,
      I agree, our rituals are very similar. When I lived on Gabriola and commuted to work, I would get up at 4:30 and write on the ferry. It keeps me rooted. I won’t say balanced, because I don’t pretend to be that. lol.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your ritual with us.
      Namaste
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

