X is for Xtra-ordinary – A to Z Challenge

My theme for the “A to Z Challenge” is World Mythology.A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

My A to Z posts will run concurrently with my usual posts. I hope they spark your curiosity. I find it fascinating how so many stories crossed the boundaries of countries and even oceans.


X is for Xtra-ordinary

anubisIs that a cop-out title? Maybe, but I’m winding down here and determined to finish the challenge. So today I’m not going to talk about a god, goddess or beasty from world mythology. Today I’m going to give you an xtra.

Extra, extra… read all about it…

I’m going to reflect on the challenge. It’s been great fun. It’s given me the opportunity to explore mythology, an interest of mine, and do it in manageable, bite-size pieces. It’s given me the opportunity to meet other bloggers and see what they’re up to and that’s been inspiring. I’ve met some great poets (like Al Lane who has used the challenge to write a Survival Guide for the Zombie Apocalypse in Haiku) and writers trying different things (like John Davis Fraine who has written a six sentence story for each letter). The amount of creativity that’s out there blows me away.

As for me? At the beginning I had considerable interest in my topic, but it waned as the month wore on and posting became work. It is a long challenge. I would give myself and A+ for effort, and C+ for the product. Still I’m hooked.

Next year I’ll choose a new topic and I’ll have some posts written ahead of time, so I can spend more time reading other people’s blogs and enjoying the whole process.

My next topic? Hmmm. That’s a year from now. It would be good to determine it at least six months ahead. Would I go to a research topic again, or something that paralleled my writing? That’s the first decision I need to make. One thing I know is that I want to instill more humor in the posts next time. Laughing always makes a long ride more enjoyable.

So that’s my X tra X day post.


DO YOU WANT MORE?

Go to my 2016 A to Z Challenge page to see my other posts on world mythology.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

5 thoughts on “X is for Xtra-ordinary – A to Z Challenge”

  1. Thanks for the mention! FWIW, I’ve visited hundreds of A to Zers blogs… but only followed a small number. Yours is one of them! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts every day, even if you’ve had to slog through them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well aren’t you awesome, Jo-Ann.

    I totally get what you’re saying. I’m exhausted from this process, and a lot of time I should be spending editing my manuscript has gone into the A to Z Challenge. On the other hand, I’ve had a terrific time putting my stories together. Tonight, like so many others, it’s after midnight and I’m working on my Y story. Ugh.

    It has been fun to see what other folks are doing. And I’m like you, I wish I had more time to visit other blogs. So if I do this again next year, I’m going to prepare several (or all, as I’ve heard others do) posts early, so I can blog hop to check out much more of what’s out there.

    Way to go on making it through the month. I’ll be in the same mental place you are come Saturday!

    Like

    1. Hi John,
      I’m hoping the editing gods will now smile upon you and make the rest of this go-through easier. You deserve it. And I look forward to your book. I’m hanging in to Saturday, just grumbling about it.
      I hope you do sign up next year. I’m sure we can pick easier topics. lol. But that doesn’t seem to be in either of our natures.
      all the best
      oh, and thanks for stopping by and chatting,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

