W is for World Mythology – A to Z Challenge

My theme for the “A to Z Challenge” is World Mythology.A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

My A to Z posts will run concurrently with my usual posts. I hope they spark your curiosity. I find it fascinating how so many stories crossed the boundaries of countries and even oceans.


W is for World Mythology

My Geeky Confession: Doing research on the Internet is fast and easy, but I still love books made of paper.

Why?

It’s not just the distinctive, tactile feel of them, the weight in my hands and the texture of the page. Though, I have to say, these things bring back memories of hours spent reading my favorite books.

It’s about the type of information they provide. In a word: unbiased. They don’t attempt to know me. They are not interactive. They just tell me their story.

What the heck am I talking about?

When I use the Internet for research I am provided with the most popular pieces of data first, which may not be what I’m looking for. That’s annoying, but I can scroll down and find what interest me.

What really makes my gut churn is knowing that a faceless, almighty- algorithm filters the information I can reach according to my digital exhaust (i.e., my previous searches, my on-line purchases, my friends… ). If you think I’m paranoid, just check out the ads that you have on the side of the page. Do they look like the ones that pop up for your children or your mate? I’m guessing not. All the information provided for us is customized, because we are consumers and if we want to be honest with ourselves, we are becoming more and more cyber every day as we let technology make our decisions for us.

Yuck! I love technology. But Yuck!!!

When I pick up a book crafted with paper, it doesn’t know me, or care about my tweeting habits and there’s something old-world about that, that.

So today, I’m choosing W is for World Mythology and sharing a real book with you:

IMG_20160427_111119


DO YOU WANT MORE?

Go to my 2016 A to Z Challenge page to see my other posts on world mythology.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “W is for World Mythology – A to Z Challenge”

  1. The cover on your book is beautiful and I’m betting the inside is pretty incredible too. I agree with you about the Internet and the filtering it does for us all. To a certain extent news and other media have always been filtered both by the people making them and by the owners of those newspapers, magazines, TV etc. But never to this extent and what makes it scary is many people don’t realize.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat,
      You raise a good point. Our information has always been censured. I guess what gives me the heebie geebies is that it’s now done by a mathematical equation in a machine. Yuck!
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Karyn,
      You make a good point, but I sure like sitting in my jammies when I’m writing. I’m not sure the local library would appreciate my attire. lol.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

