A to Z Challenge

H is for Hell – Is it Around the Corner? A to Z Challenge

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvibMy theme for the “A to Z Challenge” is World Mythology.

My A 2 Z posts will run concurrently with my usual posts. Hope you enjoy


 

H is for Hell

10 Quotes on Hell

“Abandon all hope, you who enter here.” Dante

“The mind is its own place, and in itself can make a heaven of hell, a hell of heaven.” – John Milton

“HELL HAS THREE GATES: LUST, ANGER, AND GREED.” – BHAGAVAD GITA
“Hell is empty and all the devils are here.” William Shakespeare

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.”  Winston Churchill

“Hell is other people.” Jean-Paul Sartre

“What is hell? I maintain that it is the suffering of being unable to love. – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

“Maybe this world is another planet’s hell. “– Aldous Huxley

“I’m bad and I’m going to hell, and I don’t care. I’d rather be in hell than anywhere where you are.” – William Faulkner

“Go to heaven for the climate and hell for the company.” – Mark Twain


220px-Hortus_Deliciarum_-_Hell
Medieval illustration of Hell in the Hortus deliciarum manuscript of Herrad of Landsberg (about 1180) Wikiipedia

“In many mythological, folklore and religious traditions, hell is a place of torment and punishment in an afterlife.” (Wikipedia) In some religions hell is an eternal destination. In others it’s an in-between place where souls go before their next incarnation.

While some traditions consider hell a neutral place for the dead, others consider it a place of punishment. Some are ruled by death gods such as Nergal, Haes, Hel and Enma. Some are populated with demons.


 

References:

WikipediaBrainy QuotesCoolnsmart


MY A-2-Z INTRO TO WORLD MYTHOLOGY

anubisA is for Anubis, the ancient Egyptian god of death who weighs your heart

B is for Brigid, the Celtic Goddess of Fire who terrifies me

C is for Cronus, Leader of the Titans, Father of the Greek Gods

D is for Dragons, Chinese Dragons

E is for Ekeko, God of Good Luck and Abundance

F is for Freya, Norse Goddess of Love

G is the Gitche Manitou, The Great Spirit

H is for Hell


 

The A to Z Challenge

There are over 1850 blogs participating in the A- 2- Z event. Something for everyone. I am trying to check out as many of these great blogs as possible. You can too via this link:http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-z-challenge-sign-up-list-2016.html

Blogs I’m following in the Challenge (s0 far):

Alistair Lane, A Certain Point of View – Topic: Zombie Survival Tips in Haiku

Annette, Annette`s Place – Topic: Legendary Mythical Creatures

Dipanwita, Cocktails, Mocktails & LIfe Topic: Poetry

Jo , Food, Life and a Scent of Chocolate Topic: Food

John Davis Frain, John Davis Frain Topic: Six Sentence Stories

Jackie Jain , Words Dipped in Happiness Topic: Poems about Happiness

Ipsita Banerjee,  A Sliver of a Moonbeam Topic: Book Friends

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles – Topic: The ABCs of Mindfulness

Susan A Eames – Travel, Fiction and Photos Topic: Wildlife Encounters


Feature Picture Courtesy of Wikipedia: A fresco in the cathedral of Ovieto. This fresco is called The Condemned. It was painted by Luca Signorelli, about 1450.

 

 

11 thoughts on “H is for Hell – Is it Around the Corner? A to Z Challenge

    1. Hi Susan,
      Good point.
      But when I hear about the migration crisis on the news, I truly do wonder, it it’s not on earth for some poor souls.
      Thanks for stopping by,
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I really like the quotes! I know I am odd LOL! I am stuck on my T and was reading about some demons that were considered Hell by how horrible they were. I am debating if I will use one or do a bit of a light-hearted one. You did really good on this one. All of them have been good but I liked that you chose Hell. Most would not “go there” and I am impressed you did. 🙂
    Best to you and yours,
    Annette

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Annette's place and commented:
    Here is my new friend and partner in crime LOL just kidding. She is doing World Mythology and I am as you know doing Legendary Mythical Creatures! So, I say great minds think alike. Please read her take on H and she has links to the other letters right here too! Enjoy and learn while you are at it! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks John,
      I found it interesting how many great writers have quotes on hell. Says something doesn’t it.
      Great to meet you.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

