A to Z Challenge

C is for Cronus, Leader of the Titans, Father of the Greek Gods -“A to Z Challenge)

CMy theme for the “A to Z Challenge” is World Mythology, A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvibbecause it fascinates me.

My alphabetically, organized posts will run concurrently with my usual posts. Hope you enjoy them.

 


C is for Cronus

Leader of the Titans, Father of the Olympian Gods

The story of Cronus is so filled with drama, brutality and debauchery, It’s hard to do it justice.

In the beginning of time Uranus, the titan of the sky wed Gaea the titan of the earth and had a family. The youngest of their children was Cronus, considered to be their weakest and smartest.

What does the bright one do?

Cronus married his sister Rhea, threw his parents into the underworld and took their thrones. He and his wife/sister became King and Queen and the Golden Age began. Six of their children became Olympian Gods (i.e., Zeus, Hera, Poseidon, Hestia, Demeter, and Hades).

but Cronus had Issues

Having done-in his own father, Cronus worried his children would dethrone him as his mother had prophesied.

So he ate them. Every time Rhea had a child, he devoured.

To save her last child, Rhea gave birth in a cave in Crete, far away from her husband. She named the boy Zeus and left him to be raised by others. When she returned home  she presented Cronus with a stone wrapped in blankets. Cronus swallowed the stone thinking it was his child.

When Zeus became a man he returned home and gave his father an emetic. Cronus threw up first the stone, and then his children in reverse order. (note – there are variations to this myth).

And so began the battle, Titanomachy, between Cronus and his children, the Gods of Olympus.

Cronus lost. There are different myths accounting for what happened to him. I like the one where he gets imprisoned in a cave for life.

Why Pick Cronus for c?

Greek mythology permeates western literature and intrigued me. Cronus is the granddaddy of all the stories.


 

References

http://www.greek-gods.info/titans/cronus/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cronus


MY A-2-Z INTRO TO WORLD MYTHOLOGY

anubisA is for Anubis, the ancient Egyptian god of death who weighs your heartbrigid

B is for Brigid, the Celtic Goddess of Fire who terrifies me


The CHallenge

There are over 1850 blogs participating in the A- 2- Z event. Something for everyone. I am trying to check out as many blogs as possible. You can too via this link:http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-z-challenge-sign-up-list-2016.html

Blogs I`m following in the Challenge (s0 far):

Alistair Lane, A Certain Point of View – Topic: Zombie Survival Tips in Haiku

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles – Topic: The ABCs of Mindfulness

Annette, Annette`s Place – Topic: Legendary Mythical Creatures

Dipanwita, Cocktails, Mocktails & LIfe Topic: Poetry

Jo , Food, Life and a Scent of Chocolate Topic: Food

John Davis Frain, John Davis Frain Topic: Six Sentence Stories

Jackie Jain , Words Dipped in Happiness Topic: Poems about Happiness

Ipsita Banerjee,  A Sliver of a Moonbeam Topic: Book Friends

Susan A Eames – Travel, Fiction and Photos Topic: Wildlife Encounters

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “C is for Cronus, Leader of the Titans, Father of the Greek Gods -“A to Z Challenge)

    1. Thanks Stephanie. The story is chilling. So nice of you to stop by and comment. This challenge is fun.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thanks Susan
      I didn’t think the challenge would get gory, but it looks like it will. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Cronus was such a bad guy. I wonder what would have happened if he had been a bit nicer and hadn’t listen to his mother. He might have made an alliance with some of his children and have a better chance. It’s so weird the turns stories can take.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of the things I take from this story is to remember that some character arcs have to have some really gruesome points. lol.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Linda. I wonder too.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who will check out your post later today.

      Like

    1. Hi Claire
      Nice to meet you. I’ll check out your site later today.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Yet another new learning for me. I had never read about Zeus’ father. He really was a psychopath devouring his own children. Waiting for “D”. Best wishes Jo 🙂

    Like

  3. What a nice guy. Mind you, I have bred fish that will turn around and eat their offspring unless you use a breeding cage. Amazing he could regurgitate them whole though. The titans weren’t a very nice bunch, but the gods weren’t a lot better.

    Like

    1. Hi Jo,
      I immediately thought of fish. I wonder if that’s where they got the idea.
      I agree the Greek Gods weren’t the nicest, either.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and chatting. Now I know you like fish:)
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Katie,
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting. I’ll swing by your place.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who agrees Cronus is a jerk.

      Like

      1. Hi Annette,
        Thanks for your interest. On the 18th, Black Cat Blues will be free, because I’m launching Ain’t Misbehavin’ that day. You can get a free copy of my first book Covert Danger by signing up for my newsletter. And I’ll gladly gift any of my books in exchange for an honest review. Hope that helps.
        Best Wishes
        Jo-Ann

        Like

      2. Jo-Ann, You are going to find this funny but I have not done the ebook kindle thing before! I just yesterday downloaded the kindle app to try and Get your book!!! LOL!! I will look for Black Cat Blues on the 18th thanks for the tip. And I will go sign up for your newsletter now for that free copy of Covert Danger!!!! I have never reviewed a book but know I could do a smashing honest job of it. I would be honored to review any of your books. Surprise me with the first one you would like me to read. My email is harrisannette99@gmail.com if that helps any. I am a avid reader but never yet done an ebook like I said but, so ready to jump aboard this trend in reading!

        Like

      3. Annette
        Your note is music to my ears. I would love your to review Black Cat Blues. It came out in January and I’d love more reviews for it. I’ll send it to you in a couple minutes. If you like it and want more, just holler. Also I have a street team (aka fan club) called Jo-Ann’s Secret Society on Facebook. You’re welcome to join it after the first review. I’m up to my ears in final edits for Ain’t Misbehavin’ which launches next Monday, so I better get back to work.
        Thanks for your interest.
        Best Wishes
        Jo-Ann

        Like

      4. I am on Chapter 4 and I must tell you that 1) If a book does not grab me in the first few pages I don’t read further. 2) I am not going to tell you if I like it or not until my review….lol….but here is a hint….REFRESHING BREAK FROM THE RUN OF THE MILL MYSTERY INDEED! LOL I will write your review when I am done just need to know do I write it in a post to my blog (which I want to do anyway) or where would you like me to send my review? New to reviewing books so I am not sure of the process. I will be joining your fanclub for sure! I am waiting for the Mata series you had the little video clip about on your blog. I Misbehavin’ is one of them?

        Good Luck,
        Annette

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hi Annette!
        Woo Hoo! I love readers. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I have two series. My first is the Mata Hari Series (A Single Woman…A Double Life). It’s about a woman who is a CIA agent and an international model. Her Dutch boyfriend looks like a Viking warrior and is smoking hot. Exotic locales and lots of fun. My second series is the Vancouver Blues series. It’s the one you’re reading now. It has a darker, urban noir feel to it. The best place to put reviews is on Amazon.com. You go to the buy page and scroll down to where you can add your review. Then you can post it on Goodreads and your blog. If your Amazon and Goodreads accounts are linked to your Twitter and FB accounts, they will be shared there as well. I can’t tell you how much this kind of sharing means to a writer. It’s pure gold.
        Enjoy your read.
        Best Wishes
        Jo-Ann
        ps – my street team can be found on FB at https://www.facebook.com/groups/797080520437031/

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Awesome thanks for the link I am a fan and will be joining! Will do the Amazon review and then Goodreads and my blog. It is funny I have not read an ebook as I said and this one on Kindle is so nice. I will be buying ebooks from now on. I just opened up a Goodreads myself but I am linked up to facebook and twitter so all should go smoothly! Mystery books usually bore me but your description of walking down an alley at night was spot on and I could feel the goose bumps just as Maggy did! Not to much just perfect descriptive words. It kept me reading. I will go on about the other aspects of the book that I consider good too on my review. I will be careful not to give to much away…lol talk to you soon….

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Hi Annette,
        Thanks for all your praise. I love enthusiastic readers. I`m glad you`re enjoying your first ebook experience. I love my Kindle. It makes my addiction to reading affordable and I can take it anywhere. I`m looking forward to your review.
        Best Wishes
        Jo-Ann

        Liked by 1 person

  4. How fabulous to be doing world mythology in bite-size pieces Jo-Ann thank you! We have much to learn from these gods, their dynamics inter alia … and their relevance for our contemporary world.

    Like

    1. Hi Susan
      Nice to meet you. Thank you. I am having fun. I like mythology, but find it dense and overwhelming. Taking it in bite-size portions works for me.
      I’ll hope over and visit you.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

