Women

Strong Women Don’t Wait

for men to save them.

I can see the rotten tomatoes flying through the air aimed at my head, but I don’t care. I’m saying what I believe. Women need to save themselves.

I’m  tired of heroines waiting to be rescued. Rapunzel hangs out inPrincessAuroraSleeps a tower brushing their hair. Sleeping Beauty sleeps all day. Snow White bakes pies for gangs. You know what I mean.

Don’t get me wrong, I like men. Scratch that, I love men. But I don’t expect them to fix my life and I wouldn’t want any of my female friends or relatives to either.

We need to evolve our story structures.

Snow_white_09It’s time to throw Snow White stories in the garbage.

And read stories like The Paperbag Princess.paperbagpFire1

 

 

“But people need each other,” you say.

The truth is we all save and complete each other in many wonderful ways. But the more whole we are as individuals, the more we have to offer the world.

The whole “Cinderella complex” issue is old, but I had to write about it today, because while it may be old, it’s not dead. Women get stuck and shrunk by the whole notion that they need to wait for the white knight to save them.

The [cinderella] complex is named after the fairy tale character Cinderella. It is based on the idea of femininity portrayed in that story, where a woman is beautiful, graceful, polite, supportive, hardworking, independent, and maligned by the females of her society, but she is not capable of changing her situations with her own actions and must be helped by an outside force, usually a male. (WIKIPEDIA)

That’s why I write strong women.

Add a little bit of body text

 


 

shutterstock_104723360 (1)What do you think? Love to hear from you.

 

 


My latest book, Ain’t Misbehaving’ is available on Amazon for pre-order.AintMishehavin_CVR_LRG

A naked alderman, a haunted trattoria and a love that can not be denied.

BUY LINK


 

Today’s Woman Writer’s quote:

“Writing this letter is like putting a note in a bottle

And hoping it will reach Japan.”

Alice Munro, Dear Life


6 thoughts on “Strong Women Don’t Wait

  1. Did you ever read the book? I did – must have been in the ’80’s. I guess I was lucky that I picked a man who came from a family of strong women and was fine with me doing things for myself. I hope I write my heroines as strong women too, but in trying to make a strong character arc I always write them too wimpy and consequently not likeable enough to begin with. In the first draft. It’s something I’ve had to work hard to correct. Probably a holdover from my upbringing. Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Judy
      No, I didn’t. I know it’s an old concept, but having read a few romances lately the theme is gnawing at my brain.
      I agree with what you are saying about character arcs. I started out making my women too weak and my beta-readers couldn’t stand them. Sheesh. It’s a hard balancing act. I guess it’s like painting. The characters have to have depth and dimension and that’s not easy to convey in their first scene. It’s definitely something I work hard at.
      It’s interesting that you mention your upbringing. We really were born in the last century and so much has happened since. lol.
      But if we can keep up, why can’t the mainstream stories? My grumble for the day.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and making me think.
      All the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I think what I find strange is how popular the Disney Princesses are. Hand out stickers in ER and you notice that kind of thing. Maybe there’s a part of us that hankers for a big strong man to wraps his arms around us and take care of us. In reality though I think most women wouldn’t go back to the 50’s style housewife if their life depended on it.

    I love your heroines. They’re strong but human and flawed just like the rest of us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat,
      Princesses are so popular. They’re pretty and their lives are perfect. It’s hard not to like them. I loved Entangled and Alladin … But to me they are fantasies and I think kids get that. Modern romance stories, however, sell themselves as real. And they’re not. IMHO
      I totally get the hankering for strong arms, but I love the ideal of a couple holding each other up.
      Thanks for your compliment about my heroines. You are too kind and your words mean the world to me.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who is so happy you stopped by to chat. TQ

      Like

  3. Paper bag Princess is a personal favourite I read to my daughters many many times. I’ve also used the idea in a book. A woman reads it to a girl and they discuss the concept of Prince Ronald being a jerk. I also read it to my grandsons. It should be required reading at daycare and kindergarten in my opinion.

    FWIW, my heroines never need saving…they have already saved themselves usually before the story even begins…hence they don’t NEED heroes, but they love them and choose to have an HEA.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Bonnie,
      I can see you reading the book to your children and now grandchildren. It’s definitely a strong woman’s book. And I love your heroines. I never think they need saving. And don’t we all need a good HEA.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and chatting. I miss you.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who hopes to cross paths again, soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

