A Blustery Writing Date 16/3

After sixteen days of rain the sun came out and I decided to take my writing to the park.

On the walk over I worried I had put on too many clothes, but once I stopped the brisk wind caught up with me. I wondered how long I would last. I had brought along a cushion with a plastic bag on it, a notebook and a pen and coffee.

I sat for a few minutes smelling the spring blossoms opening on the trees and watching the wind dimple the deep-blue water. A lone Mallard duck swam in  the estuary.

IMG_20160316_101952The grating sound of a weed-eater caught my attention. A gardener trimming the edge of the walkway worked thirty meters to my right and was heading my way. My heart sank and I took a long swig of coffee.

IMG_20160316_102144Walkers chatting amiably filled the walkway behind me, enjoying the change of weather. A few children skipped along with their parents.  It was spring break. I wondered where all the other children were? A sea gull screeched over head as it swooped down for a landing in the clearing.

As the weed-eater lady  approached, I packed up. Irritated about being disturbed,  I hobbled off to find another bench, but as I passed her, we recognized one another and chatted. I love that about small towns. My grumpiness dissipated in the warmth of friendship.

The second bench was warmer, but didn’t have a direct water view.I wrote for thirty minutes and stopped only because my fingers became numb from the cold. I returned home for my second cup of coffee.


My quote for inspiration today comes from William Wordsworth (courtesy of Brainy Quote):

Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings: it takes its origin from emotion recollected in tranquility.


Want to know more about me?Check out my website, which has all my social media links or sign up for my newsletter (and receive my first book free). 


 

I hope you find a piece of tranquility today. I found mine with in the salty, ocean breeze.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “A Blustery Writing Date 16/3”

    1. Hi Gina
      A whole thermos is a good idea. One cup wasn’t enough:) But the sunlight was wonderful.
      I hope you are enjoying spring.
      Thanks so much for taking the time to visit me here and leave a comment.
      xo
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I loved your description of writing by the sea, numb fingers and all. It is chilly but isn’t the sunshine divine? My Camellia bush is opening perfect pale pink blossoms daily. I’ve counted almost a hundred so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helena,
      It was a stunning day. Your camellia bush sounds beautiful. That’s a lot of blossoms. We’re so lucky to live in paradise. Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

