Coffee at the Local Five-Bucks- Date 09-03-16 –

Continuing on my Wed. theme of writing dates . . .

I’m going stir-crazy. Or maybe just crazy. I have a soft-tissue injury in my knee, which makes getting around difficult. It’s amazing how a little pain can mess up your life. I know I have no right to complain, but it’s annoying. After three days of propping my leg in the air, I decided to escape and get into the real world. Here I sit in the local Starbucks. Is that real enough?

Jerry Seinfeld coined the  nickname “Five-bucks” for Starbucks. Other monikers include: Stirbucks, Yuppiebucks and Buckies (source: White Noise blog)

This one isn’t my favorite, because it never seems clean, no matter what time of day I visit. The personnel are nice and work really hard, but they don’t seem happy. Do I need a genuine smile with my coffee? Maybe not, but it’s nice.

Being in a downtown location the clientele is diverse. There are travelers waiting for the next ferry to an island filled with artisans and aging hippies (I can say that because I’ve lived there). The women wear dangling earrings. The men look like granola eaters. There are people off the street who look like they can’t afford coffee. Sometimes there are firemen, but not today. I’m not that lucky. And there are the meet-up-people that I see at all coffee houses. Some are making a business deal, while others are study-buddies or applying for a job.

The foot wear ranges today from red sneakers with no socks to tall, black leather boots. It’s that in-between season.

A bald man reads a newspaper in the corner.  Almost every table has at least one cell phone drawn. Loud voices behind me chat about their lives. Many IMG_20160308_161138talkers. Not as many listeners.

My regular, grande latte comes with a heart on top. I sit by a large window soaking in the late afternoon sunlight and the sound of people around me.

Inspirational Quote

Practice. Everyone wants to write a novel, and they want to do it without stretching. You don’t lace up and run a marathon without first learning to run a mile, two miles, five miles. The day you implement your plan is the day you start reading and the day you start writing.Start a blog and post to it every day. It might be a single line from a story that doesn’t yet exist. Or a scene—maybe a first kiss or a bar fight. Maybe you write a different first kiss scene every day for a month. This is like practicing your layups. So when you have to nail one in a game, you don’t freak out and go flying into the stands. The importance of a blog is that your posts remain up and visible forever. Facebook will hide and destory your content. Cross-post to Twitter and Facebook if you like, but the blog is your hub. This is your street corner. This is where you strum your instrument and improve.” Hugh Howey (from his BLOG)

Reflections

I love the idea of my blog being my street corner. I fear that I may come across as the nutcase who rants about aliens and his latest paranoid theory, but one thing I’ve learned since I started writing, almost five years ago, is that I can’t care what other’s think. Not if I want to write.

What do you think of the quote? Do you have a pet name for Starbucks? Love to hear from you.


 

 ~Today and Tomorrow I have a sale ~

saleBCB

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “Coffee at the Local Five-Bucks- Date 09-03-16 –”

    1. Hi Pat
      Thanks for the compliment. It helps that I don’t have a job. I’m amazed you get so much writing done with a hectic job in Emerg and a son. I could never manage writing when I was working and I regret it now, but you can only do so much in a day.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

