Writing Coffee Date 3/2/16 at the Buzz

 

julia cameron
Click on the cover for the buy link

I like to take myself out on writing dates, an idea I adopted from Julia Cameron (The Writer’s Way). Writing in different locales feeds my muse. I’ve written inside palaces in Florence, on a boat in Venice, in coffee houses in Amsterdam, and in Grand Central Station in New York City. I’ve written on beaches  and in forests around the Pacific Northwest where I live. Mostly I write in local coffee shops. I thought I’d journal some of my writing dates.

 

Today I’m at The Buzz, a coffee house a few minutes drive from my home. On IMG_20160302_091350their website the owners tell their story:

The Buzz Coffee House is the fulfillment of a dream Scott and Kara have had for a number of years, a place where people feel welcome, where community is built, where customer service is key, and where we can serve the best darn coffee in Nanaimo! (The Buzz website)


My Plan

… is to describe my surroundings, and then work on my next book.

The ambiance

The Buzz has a laid-back, artsy feel to it, superb coffee and tasty treats.

It’s 9:30 in the morning and the coffee house is humming. It’s a tall space (guessing forty feet) with lots of windows on the main floor and a loft to the right. The walls are painted a mustard color which fades into the background of wooden tables, plants and people. My feet are on a comfy carpet, but most of the floor is lino.

I’m sitting at a long table recently vacated by a group of men working for the telephone company. Another computer guy joined me within seconds. He’s wearing ear phones, so I don’t feel the need to talk.

IMG_20160302_091723The natural light from the window bathes my space with the morning sun. After yesterday’s torrential rain it is a welcomed respite. Above me hangs a pendant lamp. And on the wall above my window two paintings hang and then up, way up there’s another window.

If I was to look for one word to describe this setting this morning it would be: light.

Two of the small tables near of us have women chatting. The one behind us, partially hidden by a large plant, a  middle aged couple talks in hushed tones. Is the plant between us real? Not sure.

“Do you have a lifestyle journal?” A woman’s voice carries above the crowd.

Music plays in the background. Not too loud, not too anything, it fills the space. A man at the next long table works at a  crossword puzzle, but most of the solos have computers.

The staff is full of energy. It makes you feel good just to talk to them.IMG_20160302_091753

Yup, this is a good writing space. I’ve visited before for coffee, but today is the first time I brought my laptop. It feels good.


 

For Inspiration – a writing quote from Ray Bradbury

Click on the cover for the buy link
Click on the cover for the buy link

“Hot today, cool tomorrow. This afternoon, burn down the house. Tomorrow, pour cold critical water on the simmering coals. Time enough to think and cut and rewrite tomorrow. But today – explode – fly apart – disintegrate! The other six or seven drafts are going to be pure torture. So why not enjoy the first draft, in the hope that your joy will seek and find others in the world who, reading your story, will catch fire, too?” 

Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing


Quotes like this bring me to my knees. He nails it. I’ve finished weeks of editing and am thrusting to break lose and fly into a new story. Soon . . . soon.

shutterstock_104723360 (1)How about you? Do you have a favourite place outside your home that you like to go to write or read . . . or think? Love to hear from you.

 


Cover-Jo-AnnCarson-CoverDanger-covert14Sign up for my newsletter to learn about my books and I will send you a free e-copy of my first book, Covert Danger, the story of a single woman with a double life.

 


 

IMG_20160302_091750 Photos are all my own today.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Writing Coffee Date 3/2/16 at the Buzz”

    1. Hi Marian
      A view of the woods sounds tranquil. And the beach! Hard to beat that.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Besides in my living room where I sit next to a floor to ceiling window with a view of the neighborhood and a yew tree that birds frequent, I also like writing when out of the country. I recently started a fourth Kay Driscoll on a Caribbean trip. We love to travel and I have written in many different countries.

    I love Ray Bradbury.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Susan
      Your writing spot at home sounds cozy. I also love the idea of writing in the Caribbean. Great places to write. No wonder your books are so good.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Hi, Jo-Ann! I have a weekly Sunday morning coffee/writing date with fellow writer Marion Ann at the Serious Coffee in Cook Street. It’s only a 15 minute walk from my home, we have a fave table in the back, and I get to pick up groceries for the upcoming week afterwards. This meetup has becoming a highlight and an essential part of my week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love following your Sunday writes on FB. It makes me smile overtime I see it. What a great event!
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

