Computer Meltdown Blues

Oh my goodness – this last week has been riddled by computer problems for me. Maybe it was because I did a hard stop on my machine for the FB party. Or maybe it was because Windows 10 has a dark shadow. Or maybe I’m getting a chunk of bad karma back. Who knows. But I feel like I’m jumping an endless set of hurdles with no finish line in sight.

It started last Tuesday when my trusty, four-year old, Toshiba laptop running Windows ten started acting weird. I couldn’t add attachments to my Yahoo email. I switched to my gmail account and within minutes I had the same problem. So I embedded information in the emails. Problem solved. I thought.

Then word started crawling. Then it stopped. WTF! I stomped my feet and started hyperventilating. “Nooooooo!”

Calm down, I told myself. Just calm down. I went to settings and tried to pull up Panda, which is my on-line tech support. You guessed it. It wasn’t there. When did it disappear?

I searched and searched and was able to find traces of it, but nothing I could access. Then I dug up a phone number from an ancient, email conversation with them and called it. Phew. Problem solved. Hah!

Long story short: Five hours and two nice, Jamaican techies and three pots of coffee later, I got the, “start the machine and try it,” message.

It lasted ten minutes. Technician #2 took it over again. My hands were sweating, my gut ached and my pulse went off the charts. My to-do list played an endless jig in my head.

They phoned me and directed me back to the machine where they showed me a temperature gage. “See, the machine is overheating… buy some compressed air…if that doesn’t work have a technician clean your fans, but that will more expensive…”

Eeeeeks! Of course my dh is no in town.

Compressed air? What am I supposed to do with a can of air? I’ll probably put it in the wrong hole and deep-fry a memory chip or something. Sheesh. I price out a can of air and decide to wait till morning.

At eight the next  day I took the machine into Staples. A very nice technician takes it off my hands for thirty dollars and assures me that everything will be all right.

I wish.

But since I had to wait for it, my mind got a wandering. It was fifteenth in line for his attention, I decided to buy a computer. An Apple computer. Something I have wanted for years and resisted buying. No I haven’t budgeted for it, but the price was good and he said I’d learn to use it within a day.

End of story? No.

I go home and wait for his phone call. I want to hear that my Toshiba is fixed and my Apple is ready (whatever that means. I didn’t have a clue at this point).

Long story short. This is now the following Monday, six days later. The Toshiba is working pretty well, except I have Cortana in the corner asking me if I want anything and I find that annoying. But my Apple is not “ready.” The Staples store is having Internet access problems with Shaw and can’t download the necessary whatevers. Uuuuuuuurgh.

I am happy that I have one computer working, but the process has been really hard and I am unbelievably irritable.

Is this what I get for, as one friend put it, “…going to the dark side?” Is there such a thing as a bad Apple? Will I learn what I need to know in one day? Will the universe start playing nice? Who knows.

The point of my rant is to say, that I can’t believe how upsetting it is to have computer problems. 

I have done a lot of deep breathing, eaten sushi with dear friends and drank wine.  I will get through this. And no, I don’t expect your tears or kind words. I know it happens to all of us.

I just needed to rant. And btw, I now know where to stick the air.

And that, my friends, is my Monday post.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

16 thoughts on “Computer Meltdown Blues”

  1. You know the saying, computers are great as long as they are working. My Dell was only 6 months old when it got corrupted. It took over 2weeks to get it back. At least I don’t use it for work but it was still mighty inconvenient. Hope you get it all worked out soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gina
      Soon. I’m hoping soon. I’m going to drive over there later this afternoon and do some more grunting. Hopefully that will help get things moving.
      Two weeks! I would really be messed up if I had to wait two weeks. That’s the main reason I’ve used to justify to myself buying a second machine. If one goes down, there will be another. I hope.lol
      Thanks so much for stopping by and chatting. You’re awesome.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I wonder what Staples is doing with the Apple. I bought mine from UVic, brought it home, plugged it in, followed the prompts… don’t remember having any problem setting it up. Sending sympathetic hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jenny
      That’s what I expected. A one, two three . . and I’d be up and running.
      But no, not for me.
      Over the weekend I kept getting high school kids who lacked the ability to explain to me what was going on and that scared me. I began to wonder if I had a bad machine. But I trust the technician I’m working with now. The first problem was that my password got screwed up and they couldn’t fix it. We used my phone to fix that. Now they just have to download some “stuff”.
      But their Internet connection isn’t working.
      I can’t wait to get my hands on my first Apple. But at the moment I have to wait.
      Thanks for listening and caring. It’s been ridiculously upsetting.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Hi Jo-Ann, I’ve also been having issues with my computer. It’s almost six years old and well..I think this is the beginning of the end.

    I’ve been happy with my Bell email account until now, but I’m not overly thrilled with the new and “improved” interface. My flagged emails and contacts were not moved over to the new interface, so now I have to go back and forth between Outlook and Bell. I didn’t get a straight answer from any of the technicians but I’m hoping I have at least a week to make all the transfers. I’m thinking of finding a new email server.

    I guess we’re all in “rant’ mode this week.

    Good luck with your Apple. Once everything is sorted out, I’m certain you will enjoy the new experience.

    Joanne 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joanne
      You don’t know how good it is to hear someone else rant. Misery truly loves company and the Digital version exponentially so.
      They phoned me and said, maybe tomorrow. Hah!
      I hope we both enjoy our new experience?)
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Add me to the list. an hour on the phone with a microsoft technician and he did get my office word working, but of course nothing is where I left it. Nothing lost though. I think. Is it a virus running through our computers. A nasty little virus…
    I don’t know I’d go all the way to apple though. I thought the thing with them was you take it home and plug it in?
    Oh well, at least you are up and running. Cheers.
    Judy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Judy
      Another ranter! Love it. I hope your techie spoke English. They do seem to be getting better at talking these days.
      I hope your virus gets cleaned up.
      My problem seems to be an anomaly. Don’t I love being an anomaly. Hmmm.
      Thanks for ranting with me.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. So sorry to hear about your many computer problems, Jo-Ann! I think I’m the most impatient when my computer runs slow or doesn’t run at all (and needs multiple re-boots). Funny how something that I thought was supposed to make my life easier (simpler? faster?) does the exact opposite. When I bought my latest Windows laptop I was sooo tempted to buy a Mac. Windows 8 was not my friend, and I have been avoiding upgrading to Windows 10.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If only the digital gadgets made things easier. I hear your pain.
      I’ll let you know how I like my Apple when I finally get it. Lol
      Thanks for sharing your grief. It lightens mine.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  6. Touch wood, I haven’t had any major issues with my computer for about 3 years. At wrk though we’re about to through a major platform change and I can pretty well guarantee there will be issues.,starting with the only training session that works with my schedule since it’s too much trouble to replace us means that I’ll have been up since 430 in the morning and tags on anther 4 hours to my work time (but not paying OT. Apparently that doesn’t work for management so basically I’ll be brain dead. On the other hand that’s often an advantage with VIHA, you don’t ask any awkward questions and I’m pretty sure I have registered patients in my sleep (only on graveyards). I’ll stop ranting now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Pat,
      Brain dead eh? My goodness that gives me confidence in our local hospitals. Why can’t people understand that adding instruction to a workday doesn’t work? So sorry to hear you rant. You deserve chocolate.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t worry, they don’t give us any sharp objects to utilize in registration. And the pre tests they’re sending around our easy. I did the one they graded on by accident. I was just cycling through before phone calls and other work when the quiz came up so I took it and done. 80 per cent needed for pass so I obviously knew something.

        Like

Leave a Reply

