My First Writing Retreat

Settled deep in a soft, black, leather sofa beside an enormous, stone fireplace I tapped away on my laptop keyboard, sculpting sentences out of the slop of an early draft. Through the French doors I could see the full moon hanging low over the lake illuminating its surface with an eerie light. The silence of the wilderness echoed in my soul. Stillness fed my muse.

lakeIt was my first writing retreat and it won’t be my last. Four of us gathered at a lodge on Shawnigan lake, thirty miles north of Victoria on the southern end of Vancouver lake1Island. You can see us in the top photo taken by Judy Hudson (from left to right: Judy , me, Marion and Jacqui).   Marion invited us and organized the whole event. I am sooo grateful to have been included.

lake2

What does one do at a retreat?

lake4Write, chat, lake3walk, write some more, drink wine, chat some more and repeat. No list of words can sum up the experience. It’s deeply restorative not only because it’s a  country getaway, but because you’re in a small community of writers, crazy, like-minded souls. It’s like drinking deeply from a creative well. Simply wonderful.

Judy Hudson is working on her Fortune Bay Series, which is Romantic Woman’s Fiction. I’m revising Ain’t Misbehavin’ the suspense sequel to Black Cat Blues, Marion Berry is working on her memoir and Jacqui Nelson is drafting the second book in her Gambling Hearts Series, which is a New Old-West Adventure.. Although our genres  are significantly different, we are all writers and we had lots to talk about.

You know they say you never forget your first.

And I certainly won’t forget my first writing retreat. Had to share.

I hope your weekend was restorative as well.

lakes10
The dock

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

5 thoughts on “My First Writing Retreat”

  1. How beautiful. That should be inspiring for your writing. It’s great you guys were able to get together and bounce ideas off each other

    Like

    1. Hi Gina
      It was wonderful. I lifted my head from the screen and asked, “Do tears well, or well up?” Got two instant answers: “They can’t well down,” and “Well.” The connection was awesome.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Hope you have a great Monday.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Verna
      Take a weekend. I bet you deserve it. And the work you can accomplish afterwards will really rock. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes always
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

