Black Cat Blues Series, Vancouver Blues Series

Why Vancouver, 4 – The I Ching

“The less one thinks about the theory of the I Ching, the more soundly one sleeps.” C.G. Jung

The I Ching, or in English, the Book of Changes, is a sacred Chinese text used to gain understanding of life. It is a divination manual that dates back to the Western Zhou period (1000-750BC). Over the centuries it has been used to assist in moral decision making as informed by Taoism and Confucianism.

confucius“Everything flows on and on like this river, without pause day, and night.” Confusius

It’s all about change. Life is not an epic journey of events. It’s more like a constantly changing river.

“He who has perceived the meaining of change fixes his attention no longer on transitory individual things but on the immutable eternal law at work in all change.”

The philosophy is fascinating, but I won’t go into it here, as I can’t do it justice in a blog post.

I’m writing about the I Ching, because when I think about Vancouver I think about the I Ching. The city is multi-ethnic and has a strong Asian influence that gives it depth and texture. Many years ago I took a course on the I Ching at Simon Fraser University. Too me, it’s all soo Vancouver.

BlackCat_CVR_LRG
Click on the cover for the buy link

And… The I Ching pops up in Black Cat Blues and its sequel Ain’t Misbehavin’.

Going back to Jung’s quote, experiencing the I Ching is unsettling. From the throwing of sticks or the toss of coins, a hexagram is drawn and from that a poetic statement about your life. I find my readings not only accurate, but illuminating. It’s not flashy like Tarot cards or tea leaves, which might tell you a tall dark stranger will darken your doorway, it’s deeply spiritual and instructive.

So to demonstrate it, I asked for two of my sisters (of suspense) to let me do a reading for them. Six volunteered. I love my sisters. Four of their readings are below.

I asked them to think of a question about their lives and then toss three coins. I made the following interpretations from the result, using the I Ching. Have a look.

Veronica Forand

Hexagram:  #49 Ko / Revolution (Molting)

i_ching_49_ko (1)hex49

tuiTui (The Joyous) Lake (still water), over

liLi (The Clinging) Fire

 

Judgement:

“Revolution. On your own day/ You are believed. / Supreme success, / Furthering through perseverance, / Remorse disappears.”

My notes:

  • The top and bottom trigrams are in conflict – water and fire
  • Each is trying to destroy the other
  • A revolution or a molting becomes necessary
  • “Changes ought to be undertaken only when there is nothing else to be done… One must become firm in ones’ mind…”
  • Cautions: “When change is necessary, there are two mistakes to be avoided. One lies in excessive haste and ruthlessness, which brings disaster. The other lies in excessive hesitation and conservatism, which are also dangerous.”

My interpretation:

You are in a place in your life where change has become necessary. It cannot be avoided and should be approached with care and forethought. You may not get exactly what you want, but you may be “satisfied with the attainable.” If you go too far it could lead to unrest and misfortune.

Veronica’s Response:

“Damn- you’re good- it spoke right to my question- I’d say a ten in shedding light on my question. “

Veronica Forand’s Bio

veronicaVeronica Forand is an attorney and an award-winning writer of romantic suspense. She’s lived in Boston, London, Paris, Geneva, and Washington, DC and currently resides near Philadelphia. An avid traveler, she loves to roam across continents with her husband and kids in pursuit of skiing, scuba diving, and finding the perfect piece of chocolate.

Veronica’s website


Melissa Weir

Hexagram: #46 She’ng (Pushing Upwards)

46 she'ng

 

 

 

Trigrams:

k'unKun, The Creative (Earth)

 

sunover Sun,The Gentle (Wood, wind)

 

Judgement:

“Pushing Upward has supreme success./ One must see the great man. Fear not./ Departure towards the south/ Brings good fortune.”

My notes:

  • Wood grows upward with effort
  • success through the effort of the will
  • a vertical ascent, a rise from obscurity to power and influence
  • There are warnings – as one advances it is important not to be intoxicated by success
  • calm, steady progress leads to the goal
  • “ he who pushes upward blindly deludes himself. He knows only advance, not retreat. But this means exhaustion.”
  • Must be conscientious and consistent in intent – free of blind impulse

My interpretation

  • Buy the champagne, but be mindful of how you manage yourself with success

Melissa’s response:

“Lol. How did you know it was work related?  I would say 10.  Now I need to know when.”

Melissa Weir’s Bio

melissaMelissa Keir has always wanted to be an author when she wasn’t hoping for a career as a race car driver.  Her love of books was instilled by her mother and grandparents who were avid readers. She’d often sneak books away from them so that she could fantasize about those strong alpha males and plucky heroines. 

Melissa doesn’t believe in down time.  She’s always keeping busy.  Melissa is a wife and mother, an elementary school teacher, a movie reviewer for a local radio station, owner of a publishing company as well as an author. Her home blends two families and is a lot like the Brady Bunch, without Alice- a large grocery bill, tons of dirty dishes and a mound of laundry. She loves to write stories that feature happy endings and is often seen plotting her next story.

Melissa’s website


 

Sarah Andre

Hexagram: #17 Sui (Following)

i_ching_17_sui

hexagram-17-following

 

 

 

Trigrams:

tuiTui (The Joyous Still Water)

Over

i_ching_thunder_chen(Arousing Thunder)

 

 

Judgement:

Following has supreme success. Perseverance furthers. No blame.

My Notes:

  •  the trigrams indicate gladness above and arousing below, which suggests movement

Interpretation:

  • you are experiencing a time of movement and change
  • it is a time to let go of old prejudices, old thoughts, maybe even old behaviors and let the change happen – persevere

Sarah’s response: 

That sounded interesting. It was worded in a difficult way to understand, but from my interpretation of your interpretation, there is movement toward my goal (which was my question- would I succeed) and that I should persevere and let go of the guilt- which, given it was a writing question, I needed to hear.
I’d score your reading an 8.
I have no problem having my question on your blog- it may help your readers interpret your answers in a more meaningful way. Since my editor is making me heavily revise the novel I had thought I’d publish in Dec/Jan, my question was: Will this book be publishable by April?
 
Naturally I’m way behind in my writing goals to make this happen, both because of holidays and my own procrastination, and I am eaten up with guilt about it. Your answer gives me hope and does make me want to persevere, when it’d be just as easy to throw up my hands and say “I’ll deal with getting back to writing in the New Year.” Thanks Jo-Ann!
My note: The IChing will tell you about the forces of change working around you at any given time and give you suggestions of how best to move forward towards your goal. It doesn’t give yes, or no answers. It is larger than that. But I’m glad it was helpful and I appreciate you letting me do a reading.

Sarah Andre’s Bio

Sarah AndreIf daydreaming were an Olympic sport, Sarah Andre would be buried under gold medals! Her debut romantic suspense, Locked, Loaded and Lying debuted in June and has garnered high praise. She lives in serene Southwest FL with her husband and two naughty Pomeranian boys, Bo and Taz. When she’s not writing, Sarah is probably sneaking chocolate, exercising or reading novels. When all procrastination attempts fail, Sarah can be found working on her latest romantic suspenseSecrets That Kill, due out in January 2016.

Sarah’s Website


Sam Bradley

# 1 Ch’ien, The Creative (Heaven)

ch'ienchien character

 

 

Trigrams Ch’ien on top of Ch’ien

Judgement:

The creative works sublime success,/ Furthering through perseverance.

My Notes:

  • The Creative is strong- made up of six strong unbroken lines
  • Indicates motion
  • Strong creative action of the divine an opening of one’s higher nature
  • “When an individual draws this oracle, it means success will come to him from the primal depths of the universe and that everything depends upon his seeking his happiness and that of others in one way only, that is, by perseverance in what is right.”
  • hexagram consistently strong, and since it is without weakness, its essence is power or energy. Hence the heaven image.
  • When all the lines are solid it means the whole hexagram is in motion

My Interpretation:

It is a time of motion and change and high energy (spiritual as well as physical). Sublime success can be achieved through perseverance for what is right.

Sam’s response:

Interesting this focuses so much on the creative. The question had to do with whether my creative efforts would give me the income I need to live comfortably in Colorado. Looks pretty positive!

Sam Bradley’s Bio

sam-memorialSam Bradley, “Sister of Medical Romance Suspense” (writing as McKenna Sinclair) has spent 30+ years as a paramedic working the streets and the ER; responding to disasters, and training firefighters. She is a photographer, videographer and podcaster. Sam is a multi-published freelance writer for EMS related journals, online publications and textbooks. Her real-life experiences were incorporated into a soon-to-be-released trilogy called, “Partners, Odyssey of the Phoenix”. She loves dogs and banana cream pie.

Waving HI to Gina. Thanks for the follow. You rock!


Reference: The I Ching, Richard Wilhelm translation, third edition, Princeton University Press, New York 1950.

The tri-gram chart came from Roberta Lee’s website. 


Y Vancouver 1 (Intro), Y Vancouver 2 (Zombies), Y Vancouver 3 (It’s all About the Light)


 

shutterstock_104723360 (1)Do you have any stories to tell about the I Ching? Love to hear them.

8 thoughts on “Why Vancouver, 4 – The I Ching

  1. Thank you for doing the reading. It was so interesting. 🙂 I hadn’t heard of I Ching but I do other readings (Oracle cards and Tarot) so I believe.

    Like

    1. Hi Melissa
      I’ve dabbled in Oracle and Tarot cards as well, but not as much.
      It fascinates me that divination tools can so accurately pry into my life. There is so much we don’t know. And I love using that in books. I do believe, but like Jung, I find it unsettling.
      Thanks so much for letting me read for you and for stopping by to comment.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Joanne
      Congratulations again on winning the cover contest with InD’tale Magazine. I love your covers.
      A third career? It would be interesting. lol
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this, Jo-Ann! I’d never heard of the I Ching, and I love learning new things like this. Looking forward to hearing how the I Ching plays a part in your new series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

