Black Cat Blues Series, Settings, Vancouver Blues Series, Vancouver Blues Suspense Series, Y Vancouver

Why #Vancouver #1

Dusk view looking downtown from Kits beach, Wikipedia
Dusk View looking downtown from Kits beach, Wikipedia

Why?

Vancouver is one of the most mesmerizing cities in the world. Surrounded by mountains, rain forest and the Pacific Ocean it has a rugged, natural beauty that is only rivaled in jaw-dropping perfection, by its vibrant pulse created by the people who live there. And I’m not even sure that’s a sentence, but you know what I mean.

Vancouver is uber, west coast hip and yet its roots as a small frontier town perched at the edge of civilization can still be felt. A dynamic mixture of cultures give it depth and texture. For the most part everyone gets along. While the diverse community is endlessly fascinating, like all things beautiful, Vancouver has a dark side. A human dark side.

The writer in me loves it.

The Vancouver Blues Suspense Series

A couple years ago I wrote Black Cat Blues, a Romantic Thriller about thirty-five year old,  Maggy Malone, a curvy blues singer with a sultry voice, who is rebooting her life after a lousy marriage when she runs into trouble. Maggy lives in a houseboat on Granville Island, has an eclectic collection of very-Vancouver friends  and sings at the Black Cat Blues bar downtown. She is turning her life around an pursuing her dream, but then a dying man tells her a secret.

Black Cat Blues won three awards.

The second book Ain’t Misbehavin’ is a sequel. I’ll tell you more about both of the books as we near their release dates.

Why did it take me so long to publish these two books? They were percolating under my bed, which is a fancy way of saying they were gathering dust while I thought about the major characters  and their struggles. In the meantime I began writing and publishing the Mata Hari Series.

But as I’m giving a workshop, How to Get Noticed Without Getting Naked, at the Creative Ink Writing conference in Vancouver (May 6-8), I decided to bring the manuscripts back into the light, polish them a wee bit and release them.

Y Vancouver

As a lead up to my first release, I’m writing a series of blog posts on Wednesdays about Vancouver. I hope you enjoy them. My “Y Vancouver” mini-blog-series translates to: Why did I choose Vancouver for my setting.


Available now for pre-order:

BlackCat_CVR_MEDPre- Order Black Cat Blues

A nightmare waits in the alley…

Stabbed in an alley behind the Black Cat Blues bar, private investigator Jimmy Daniels clings to life just long enough to tell Maggy Malone a secret.

Maggy, a curvy, blond, blues singer with a sultry voice and a razor sharp mind is starting her life over after a lousy marriage. Reluctant at first to get involved with a murder, she tells no one the secret.

But when the murderer stalks her, she changes her mind.

Maggy teams up with Jimmy’s brother, Logan, a handsome suit with a tidy view of life. They figure out the killer is looking for gold buried on Gabriola Island by the notorious, cult-leader Brother XII.

The body count rises. Will Maggy catch him? Or will she be his next victim?

And the lady sings the blues… Black Cat Blues

An Award Winning, Suspense set in the Pacific Northwest.

Vancouver Blues Suspense Series, Book 1

 

 

 


Next week Why Vancouver #2 – Shooting Zombies and…


 

shutterstock_104723360 (1)

My question to you: What do you like about Vancouver?

11 thoughts on “Why #Vancouver #1

  1. What’s not to like? Great people, restaurants, night life if you want and tons of family friendly activities. Then there’s the sea wall, Stanley Park, and ccuntless smaller parks and outdoor areas. It’s big city but nature surrounds you.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      I like how you describe it. You nailed it. As big and fancy as it’s grown, it’s still surrounded by nature.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      my best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I grew up just south of the border between British Columbia and Washington a good many years ago before traffic was so congested as it is now. When our family wanted to go to a big city, Vancouver was just as close as Seattle, and I especially remember one shopping trip we took there. (We hadn’t figured on paying duty at the border, so subsequent trips were more about sight seeing.) The biggest trip I remember is the one our entire high school class took. It was the Senior Sneak, completely approved and even accompanied by teachers.

    Like

    1. Hi Norma
      It sounds like you have some great memories. I grew up in Toronto and my first trip to Vancouver was when I was 15. It was love at first sight and I moved there three years later.
      Senior Sneak sound deliciously decadent. I hope you had lots of fun.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      my best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I love Vancouver and miss living there and seeing its beauty every day. Very much looking forward to doing a little armchair travel via your stories and blog posts, Jo-Ann.

    Like

Leave a Reply

