3 Steps to Create an #Anthology and not go Crazy #RSSOS

 

  1. Work with great writers.
  2. Choose a good theme.
  3. Talk a lot.

Blend the above ingredients until the magic happens.

Well… something like that. My list makes putting together an anthology sound easy, and it’s not. But it is worthwhile.

A couple months ago four of us decided to form a group of like-minded suspense writers to write a blog and cross-promote one another. Four grew to eighteen over night, the blog is extremely successful with a loyal and growing following and now we have our first anthology, Snippets of Suspense Anthology, #1. We’re planning a launch part on December 10th, but I’ll tell you more about that another time.

Back to the “How” of it all. Ten of our writers wanted to be in the book and as it turned out ten was a perfect number. Each writer sent me the first five thousand words of the book they wanted to promote, a bio with a picture of themselves, a cover picture and a the back blurb for the book. I formatted each writer’s work in a separate part using Pressbooks.

The theme? That was easy for us, because we were connected by the theme of suspense. So our anthology is all about suspense. Mind you, we have wild west suspense, small town suspense, international spy suspense… and the list goes on. The idea of the book is to give readers a chance to sample new stories and introduce them to writers they may not have met.

And we talk a lot. It amazes me how much talking is required to create a book, but all the chatter has been rewarding in many ways. We’ve gotten to know each other better and we have an awesome product.


 

Check it out: Free on Kobo and B and N

Ninety-nine cents and soon to be Free on Kindle


 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “3 Steps to Create an #Anthology and not go Crazy #RSSOS”

  1. Marsha West mentioned you in her post, so I had to come over to visit. Congrats on the release of the anthology. What a great idea. But organizing 10 authors into one book? That must be like herding cats! Best wishes for continued success in your writing career!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Janet
      and welcome to my blog. It’s so nice to meet a friend of Marsha’s. She’s one of the special people in my life.
      Yes, I thought organizing writers would be like organizing cats, but it actually went smoothly. We creative types tend to want to be–well creative– but the common theme pulled us together.
      Thank you for your well wishes. I hope to meet you some day.
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jacquie
      Thanks so much for stopping by. I feel more like a sail than an anchor today, trying to catch some wind for our book, but I get your analogy and I thank you for your kind words.
      I’m so happy to have you in my life. I’m learning from you every day, not only about writing, but also about life.
      my best
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve been in so many anthologies. Some work wonderfully and others don’t. I’m glad that we are work so well together and continue to support each other, talk and compromise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Melissa
      I think you are part of the reason we work so well. You have an abundance of experience, which you share, and a warm, generous heart. I love working with you.
      Thanks for stopping by,
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I’m so happy you invited me to join the Sisters of Suspense group, Jo-Ann! I love your energy and initiative. I’m learning a ton from you and all my new sisters. Hugs to you all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Jacqui
    You are one of our first four and I think we have a lot to be proud of. I love working with you. Your talent and creativity blow me away, and your commitment to the group is unparalleled. Thank you for all your work, for sharing your skills and most important to me, thank you for your friendship.
    Jo-Ann

    Like

Leave a Reply

