They Trained me for the Election

Elections-Canada

Yup. It’s true. I’m going to sit at a the table in the gym of a local school for thirteen hours on election night. (No breaks.) I’m a Poll Clerk and when you come to my station, I get to cross your name off the list.  I don’t even get to say, “Hello, Bonjour.” That’s someone else’s job. My training took three hours. Three!

They hired 250,000 people to work this election. Each of them had at least three hours of training. The government pays for both the training and the election work.

I don’t have to be a math whiz to figure out we’re spending a lot of money on the voting process that could be used to feed hungry people and fix up broken parts of the government. I won’t even begin to list them.

End of political rant.

Why am I doing it? I’m curious about the process and I love people watching. I’ll let you know what happens:)

Canadians, please put your Timmies aside, turn off the Blue Jay’s game and come out and vote.

October 19th

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

5 thoughts on “They Trained me for the Election”

  1. I think in this case it’s worth the money. It’s what we do to ensure a democracy. I did that for two elections. In one I sat at the table and in the other I was responsible for the whole voting station, I forget what I was called.

    It was a close election and we were warned our seats could be the deciding factor so be very careful. One thing I had to do was make sure everyone’s watches were synchronized to the last second. Just in case you know. One man had a Rolex so by unanimous agreement we decided we’d all sync to his watch. Oh the excitement.

    And then when we finally left our little bubble and returned to the real world we found the election had been won on number of seats long before our polling station closed.

    Like

    1. Wow Pat
      I had no idea an election could be so exciting. Now I have something to look forward to. I have to admit the video clips they played in training made me feel patriotic and I’m not normally a flag-waving kinda gal. We’ll see…
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding your experience to the conversation. You rock, my friend.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Do you get to at least sneak in a friendly ‘Hi’?

    I was at a small local rec centre this morning in Shawnigan Lake (B.C) to take a course on Digital Marketing (as I need to get the brain in gear) and the early voting had a line-up out the door. Plus I heard that U. Vic’s student population had a massive turn-out.
    That’s great. A big turn-out would be excellent.

    Like

    1. Hi Emma
      That’s true. I hope. I’m worried about getting bored, but we’ll see.Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.
      my bestJo-Ann
      who on this Thanksgiving (which is today in Canada) is thankful to have a friend in Ireland. |

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

