Hunky Highlanders + Adventure, #Book Review for A Bridge Through Time

Click on cover to buy
Click on cover to buy

A Bridge Through Time is an adventurous, romantic, time-travel story written by Jennae Vale, the first in her Thistle and Hive Series.

The heroine Ashley Moore is the kind of woman you would want to have as a best friend, big hearted, honest and dependable. But her life isn’t easy. Her parents are dead and she has no siblings. Her husband is history and the only man who calls to her heart is a handsome, ghostly figure who appears in her dreams wearing a kilt. (Yes, if you like Highlander stories, you’ll love this one.) She’s drawn to Scotland and that’s when the tale really begins. She crosses a magical bridge and enters another time.

Cailin MacBayne of the Clan MacKenzie is everything a woman could want in a sixteenth century warrior, well-built, funny, sexy and sexy. Did I say sexy twice? You know what I mean. The man oozes alpha male qualities. He loves women, but Ashley is the first to capture his heart.

So we have a modern American woman and a sixteenth-century hunky Highlander. That’s only a few hundred year age-gap. Usually this is where I lose interest, as I’m not a follower of this genre. But Vale makes the story larger than that. A gentle sense of humor flows through her lines, the couple’s relationship is compelling and there’s lots of drama as the two fight off enemies. Vale accomplishes all of this in a richly drawn Scottish setting.

If you like Highlanders or time-travel stories, you will love Jennae Vale’s A Bridge Through Time.

My Favorite Lines:

“I have to try to find this guy who’s haunting me; my gut and his kilt are telling me Scotland is where I need to be.”

“So you see…Cailin MacBayne robbed me of my wife and I intend to deprive him of his.”

I’ll be posting my review with five stars on Amazon and Goodreads.

**********************************************************************************************

I met Jennae Vale in Palm Springs and that’s why I read her book. I love getting to know writers through their stories.

Jennae Vale and me in Palm Springs (InD'scribe Conference 2015)
Jennae Vale and me in Palm Springs (InD’scribe Conference 2015)

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “Hunky Highlanders + Adventure, #Book Review for A Bridge Through Time”

  1. I love time-travel and even though Scottish Highlanders aren’t exactly the stuff of Regency novels, I think I’ll make an exception for ” A bridge through time’. Even the title has me hooked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

