Palm Springs and #InD’scribeCon 2015 – Here I Come

palm springs packing

I’m going to the InD’scribe Conference in Palm Springs (Sept. 17-20). I avoided packing until today. It probably wasn’t the wisest decision on my part, but it’s become an overwhelming job. I keep procrastinating. Like right now, I should be writing my packing list, and here I am detouring to write a blog post.  Last night I bing-watched Netflix. You know the routine. There is always something better to do than what you need to do.

I start my journey tomorrow.

Question 1 – Do I have enough swag? Swag is the name Romance writers give to promotional materials. Talk about a hole in the ocean you throw money into. In my genre it can range from bottle openers to nail files, sticky notes to candy, all covered with our logos. I’m told you can never have enough swag, but on the other hand I’m also told that garbage cans at these events get filled with paper, so I’m working on a balance. I want to take enough. Hmmmm. Do I have enough?

And of course pens. I have lots and lots of pens. Pink, Pepto-Bismal Pink, pens with my website on them. No one wants to throw them out. Right?

Question 2 – Can I fit in with the locals? The weather in Palm Springs is screeching hot  for my Canadian bones (33 degrees celcius, more than double what it is here), so I’m taking a lot of summer dresses with sweaters for the air conditioning and a bathing suit. And of course Birkenstocks and espadrilles.

Question 3 – Will everything fit in my carry-on bag? That’s all I’m taking. I put the big banner aside already. I wonder what else will stay home. Oh well, at least I have a costume for the first night event.

Question 4 – Am  I ready? Nope. Will I be ready? Maybe. I’m betting on “sort of.”

If any of you are near Palm Springs, please stop by and say hello to this nervous Nellie. I’d love to meet you in person. And I have pens:)

 

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

14 thoughts on “Palm Springs and #InD’scribeCon 2015 – Here I Come”

  1. Only one carry-on bag? My problem would be continually adding “just one more item” to my carry-on until my luggage totaled as many bags as I could drag with me 🙂 Looking forward to following your adventures at InD’scribe, Jo-Ann!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hear you about the packing. I’m a last minute packer and it has got me into trouble more than once. There are some places on this earth which really don’t sell the toiletries I rely on at home. My last trip to the West Kootenays I left that essential bag at home. Not good. Note to self: Pack the real indispensables first. The clothes can come later. I’m sure you’ll have a great time in Palm Springs but I don’t envy you the temperature.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helena
      I like your note to yourself. I always forget something, make a note about it to myself, and then forget something else the next time. It’s almost as if I don’t have enough room in my head for everything. Right now I’m arguing with myself over shoe and hat choices. It’s fun.
      Looking forward to seeing you soon.
      my best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thanks Joanne. I’m sure I’ll have tales.

      My best

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Tue, 15 Sep, 2015 at 3:37 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “Palm Springs and #InD’scribeCon 2015 – Here I Come”

      Like

    1. Hi Jodie

      Thanks for your good wishes.

      I’m sure I will learn lots, but I will miss my Island friends.

      My best

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Tue, 15 Sep, 2015 at 8:45 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “Palm Springs and #InD’scribeCon 2015 – Here I Come”

      Like

    1. Thanks Judy. I remember drinking mohitos with you in Anaheim. Great memories.

      My best 

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Tue, 15 Sep, 2015 at 9:20 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “Palm Springs and #InD’scribeCon 2015 – Here I Come”

      Like

  3. You managed NY with just one bag teaching me it is possible. Palm Springs should be a snap. I think Judy’s got the right idea. Relax and have a Mojito or two. You two are going to have a great time and readers will love Sadie. And that oh so sexy Dutchman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

