Travel

Home from Saskatchewan

20150729_122018My SIL gave me shooting lessons. I had never held a gun before. What a rush!

My Top Ten Memories:

10. Collecting Prairie town names: Big Beaver, Big Muddy, Climax…

9. Visiting Skobey Montana, eating the best, roadside-burger I’ve ever eaten at The Burger Shack and seeing antelopes on the way home.

8.Jack Rabbits, Prairie Dogs and BIG coyotes.

7. Fields of blue crops stretching as far as I could see, rippling in the breeze like waves on the ocean. Flax. Breathtaking, and far too grand to be captured with a cell-phone camera, or any camera for that matter. The kind of experience you soak in with your heart and soul.

6. Fields of yellow stretching as far as I could see, rippling in the wind. Canola.

5. Lightning sparking through the night sky and thunder pounding as the tail of a tornado passed by.

4. Meeting writers from the Saskatchewan Romance Writers Group in Regina.

3, Getting to shoot a hand-gun for the first time.

2. The friendliness of people we met.

1.Family time.

JC McKenzie shooting.
JC McKenzie shooting.
A decadent dessert cafe where the Saskatchewan writers meet.
Le Macaron, a decadent dessert cafe in Regina where the Saskatchewan writers meet.
Antelopes in Montana
Antelopes in Montana

The best thing about coming home:

The smell of cedars on the salty breeze blowing in off the Pacific.

My Bloopers?

Yes, PJ and I managed to have a few adventures along the way. We always do when we travel. I’ll write about them in another post.

How are your travels going this summer?

Have you ever been to the prairies?

I’d love to hear from you.

10 thoughts on “Home from Saskatchewan

  1. I’ve not only been there, but I was born there in Tisdale. I know what you mean about the friendliness of prairie people–each time I go back, I notice it again. Surprised to hear there’s a Dildo in Sask; I’d only heard of the one in Nfld.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Allan
      I agree, Prairie people have a friendliness that’s infectious and heart warming. As one man said to me, “You aren’t a stranger for long around here.”
      You’re right about Dildo. I deleted it.
      Thanks, my Tisdale friend
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Welcome home, Jo-Ann! Sounds like you had a great trip. My recent Alberta trip included some similarities…
    #8 minus the rabbits and coyotes. I’ve seen lots of coyotes in the past but it would’ve been grand to see Jack Rabbits.
    #6, love those yellow canola fields, but would’ve loved even more seeing a blue flax field.
    #5 minus the tornado. It’s awe inspiring to see/feel a big lightning & thunder storm.
    #2 & #1, always the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jacqui
      It’s good to go away, but it’s also good to be home on my island.
      #8 I’d heard of hares (i.e., jack rabbits), but I thought they were just regular rabbits. But they’re not. They’re super-sized.
      #6 The fields were amazing.
      #5 I thought JC went a bit far in her entertainment plans bringing us a tornado. We opened the front curtains and watched the sky for a couple of hours, while we kept our phones and the TV glued to the weather channel for updates. The tornado touched down along the Saskatchewan Manitoba border and did some serious damage. It left me thankful to be alive.
      #1/2 I couldn’t agree with your more about my top two. Saying I love you over the phone isn’t the same, as in person. There is nothing sweeter than holding loved ones in your arms.
      I’m glad to hear you had a good time in Alberta and I can’t wait for the release of your new western.
      my best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. But then I think you do no matter where you go. I’ve spent very little time in the prairies but I we had coyotes and other assorted wildlife around our ranch. I think the sound of coyotes howling is one of the lonliest sounds there is. Welcome back my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat
      I had no idea you lived on a ranch. Somehow that jars my image of you in New York on high heels. You will have to fill me in, sometime.
      I agree howling coyotes send shivers up my spine.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Jacquie

      We had a wonderful time. Thanks.

      I don’t know if I could fit you and your German Shepard in a suitcase.:)

      My best

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Sun, 2 Aug, 2015 at 7:34 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “Home from Saskatchewan”

      Like

  4. I’m being a home body this summer. I’ve been swimming in the sea and picking loads of lovely blackberries. They’re very early this year. But I have been to the prairies. My SIL is from a little spot called Cudworth, an hour north of Saskatoon. I used to refer to him as ‘the man from Cuddleworth’. I spent a week there when my daughter got married and I know what you mean about the friendliness. That dessert café in Regina looks scrumptious. I’ve recently found GF macarons in Victoria and they are to die for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helena
      Glad to hear your blackberries have survived the drought. The ones around here are mostly dried out on the stem. Love the name, “the man from Cuddleworth.” Too cool.
      You would have loved the cafe, but I’m not sure they had GF options, so you might have had to indulge for an hour.
      It’s good to be home and great to catch up with your news. Thanks for stopping by.
      my best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

