I’m back

IMG_20150704_135114

I’ve had a great time with family for the last two weeks. They don’t like their pictures or names on my blog, so you have to take my word for it. The picture to the left is of me, on the fish boat we chartered. What an adventure. The winds were high, the seas choppy and one of our engines wouldn’t work. But it was fun.

We were drift fishing, and even though the fancy electronic gadget said the fish were directly beneath us, our hooks couldn’t find them. A down rigger would have been nice.

I reeled  in a foot long sea cucumber and even imagined that it fought with me:) While they are edible, they are also cute in their own way, so I put him back in the ocean.

We feasted that night on a small Red Snapper, a rock fish and a ton of crabs.

sea-cucumbe-thumb6How about you? Any fish stories?

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

13 thoughts on “I’m back”

  1. Hey Jo-Ann! Welcome back, I missed ya. 😉 Glad you had a great time. While you were gone, I wrote a contemporary romance novella. WHOO! I have lots of fish stories, but if I told you, I’d have to have you take an oath of secrecy. LOL! Just kidding, I used to love fishing when I was growing up. I went fishing every summer with my grandfather. He’d put on the bait and clean the fish. It was great!

    Like

    1. Hi N
      Getting my feet wet.
      Congratulations on your launch. Best of luck with sales. The title is?
      A fishing oath of secrecy… There could be a murder book on that:)
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, it hasn’t been launched yet. I’m thinking of a September release. I still have to write the book blurb (sigh). I’m horrid at blurbs. Title is Planting the Seeds of Love. 🙂 Oooh, I love the sound of that! A fishing oath of secrecy. lol! Hope you’re doing good.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you had a good vacation and took pity on the sea cucumber. I know they’re supposed to be a delicacy and are served in some upscale restaurants but so far I’ve been able to resist. Fresh halibut would be a different story.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      Ah halibut. That would be nice.
      Thanks for stopping by and understanding my sea cucumber story.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Hey, Jo-Ann. Glad you were able to get away with the family. It is absolutely priceless time. My husband and older daughter are the fisherperson’s in our family, though everyone including the three grands throws in a line now and again.
    I couldn’t have eaten the sea cucumber. It just looks icky. Of course I really subscribe to the theory, I don’t want to know what it used to be or how it looked. Filets are great. No resemblance to the prior fish.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      I agree, family time is priceless. I’m wondering what kind of fish you catch?
      I like fillets because there’s fewer bones in them. I never thought of how they disguise where they come from. Interesting.
      Thanks for stopping by, chatting and sharing. Much appreciated.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Susan
      I agree completely. They use sea cucumber in sushi, but it does look gross.
      Thanks for chatting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

