Promotion, Publicity

My (Extremely) Hot Summer Event/ Cancelled

from http://www.alllatestfestival.com/canada-day-moose.html
from http://www.alllatestfestival.com/canada-day-moose.html

On Canada Day (i.e., Wednesday July 1st) I had planned to pitch my tent at a small, ocean front market in Nanaimo to engage people in conversations about books. I hoped to sell a few of my own.

from http://www.alllatestfestival.com/canada-day-moose.html
from http://www.alllatestfestival.com/canada-day-moose.html

Normally I’d say that’s a great way to spend an afternoon, but we’re in the middle of a wicked heat wave. My brain is fried and I’m as cranky as a camper with a snake in her tent.

You get the idea.

I am not the perfect PR person at the moment.

I don’t like to be negative, but this unrelenting heat tests my niceness. I am a Canadian and I can prove it. I like reading by a wood fire when it snows. I can say hello in two official languages.  I use loonies and toonies for money. I can find Moose Jaw on the map and I know what Pierre Burton said about Canadians and canoes. Suffocating heat and merciless sunshine just aren’t my thing.

graphics-beavers-079608
from http://www.picgifs.com/graphics/beavers/

 

I loved everyone’s ideas for staying cool (see comments) but the heat got the better of me and I cancelled. It’s just too hot. Maybe next year.

signed,

The wimpy, wilted Canadian:)

canadian-flag-heart

24 thoughts on “My (Extremely) Hot Summer Event/ Cancelled

  1. I feel your pain. As a fellow Canadian looking out at the thermometer today and seeing it over 40 in a protected little spot at least made me understand the pounding headache! …. Kudos to you for even trying to be nice and set up at the event… I wish I had words of wisdom to help you cope, but all I can think of is ice… lots and lots of ice. … Good luck !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kathryn Jane
      40! That’s amazing and not in a good way.
      We caved and bought our first air-conditioner. It helps one room, eats energy and makes noise. I’m really done with this heat. Sorry to hear about your headache. I’m mostly cranky.
      Ice! A darn good suggestion. I’ll take a cooler of it. We’ll see which lasts longer, the ice or me:)
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Take care
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Jodie
      Hats! I love hats. What a great idea.
      Ice Cream! Even better.
      Maybe I can have fun in this heat.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Have your fridge stocked with your favorite adult beverage for when you get home? Today for me it was a hot day in Victoria selling books at the James Bay Market. The only thing that saved me was being completely out of the sunshine under our lovely large tent. I don’t do well in the heat either.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jacqui
      I like the adult beverage idea. I’ll definitely add that to my list.
      I’m guessing there will be fewer visitors at the market as well. Who feels like shopping in the heat? I hope you did well at your market.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Your fellow wilting Canadian
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Come visit me over on Georgian Bay. Unusually cool summer in Ontario. Yesterday got all the way to 23. Bumper crop of mosquitoes doesn’t help either. Dontcha just love the smell of DEET? Maybe you should try writing about a snowstorm?

    Like

    1. Oh Joan
      I’d love to be on Georgian Bay. One of my favorite spots on earth. I’d have my feet up, a cool drink in my hand and we’d be talking books.
      Funny how my childhood memories erase the smell of DEET and the sounds of hordes of mosquitoes:)
      23 sounds wonderful to me right now. It’s 6 in the morning here and I’m wearing my bathing suit to type.
      I love your idea of writing about snow. That sounds delicious.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding to the conversation. The weather has been crazy.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan was lucky that northern Ontario was 23. My daughter was playing beach volleyball in Toronto in the rain and temp around 15 (Celsius of course). It was so cold I spent most of my time knitting in my van.
    Depending where you are…don’t forget the bug spray. But also a bowl of light “refreshing” candies. While not great promo items…people toss the wrappers…a bowl of free candies will at least having people approaching your table/booth

    Like

    1. Hi Charlotte
      15! in TO at the end of June! Unbelievable! I don’t blame you for knitting.
      I can remember as a kid sitting in the classroom in Toronto in June. Sweat would trickle down my torso and I’d stare out the window. Humid and unbearably hot.
      Strange days.
      Luckily the bugs haven’t made it out here. Love your idea of candies. So many people pass me by, but if I had candy…
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      from the wilting west coast
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Cute post. That does sound hot! Come down to Virginia where we’ve had hot days combined with violent thunder storms and tornado warnings all week. It helps cool things down, but not a great trade-off. Good luck with your promotion–whenever you do it next.

    Like

    1. Hi Grace
      Tornados! Oh, now that takes the my weather angst to a whole new level. Thanks for giving me perspective.
      We finally did get rain, but I doubt it would have filled a thimble. I’m heading for a morning cold shower.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding your Virginia experience to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  6. Hey, Jo-Ann. So sorry to hear of your heat wave. I hate heat! Makes me mean and nasty, too. Love how several of you have this market thing going. I wonder how much it would cost me to set up a table at the Farmers Market on Saturday just up the road? Or if they’d even let me? Must investigate.
    Here’s my suggestion for the heat. (and you’ve just gotten a AC unit? –we have to have central AC in Texas or we’d die!) Get a hand fan. Yes, like those old timey ones some churches have. Next get a battery operated hand held fan that will sprits you with water and air. I find them at our Wallgreens or CVS Pharmacies. They truly are life savers. When I come in from walking Charley and I’m wringing wet, I usually grab the old timey hand held fan. Oh and I only drink wine with ice in it and sometimes a bit of Sprite. Very refreshing. And during the day, lots and lots of iced tea.
    We had two beautiful days over the weekend. Humidity was low temp only 91 F. (I really can’t convert to your C stuff. LOL) Now the rest of the week promises to be beastly, but 91 the end of June? Felt like I’d died and gone to heaven. Hang in there. I hope your weather moderates fast. You were smart to cancel your market thing. People die from heat stroke! Be safe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Marsha
      The wisdom of a southern lady. Thank you so much for this.
      I can get a fan in China town in Vancouver or Victoria, but I’ll probably have to wait until I go to California to get one that sprits. I love your ideas.
      Wine with ice? Why not. I’m going to try that too. We’ve been drinking what we call Texas tea, the ice tea you introduced us to in San Antonio. It is so refreshing and it brings back lots of good memories.
      Now are you ready to laugh at me, your crazy Canadian friend? It’s 30 degrees Celsius here and I’m dying. But that’s only 86 Fahrenheit, and you’re celebrating at 91 F, because that to you is cool. Shows you how everything is relative.
      I’m glad I cancelled my hot event. I agree with you and Kathryn Jane, I need to take care of myself.
      Thanks for stopping by and giving me lots of suggestions for keeping my cool.
      Best always
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. LOL, Jo-Ann. I really assumed you must be in the 90s. But 86 with high humidity, no AC, and no breeze? Yeah, that’s not fun. Glad you’re still drinking the iced tea. It is really a refreshing drink, especially with a slice or two of lemons. Hang in there, dear one, your temp is bound to change.

        Like

      2. Thanks Marsha.

        The scary thing is the weather experts say this is the new normal. I may migrate into the ocean,:)

        Cheers

        Jo-Ann

        Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

        From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Mon, 29 Jun, 2015 at 4:30 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “My (Extremely) Hot Summer Event/ Cancelled”

        Like

  7. I’m glad you cancelled. It would have been unbearable at the summer market. My favorite summer drink is an ice cream float. Take any soft drink and add a scoop of sherbet or ice cream – make that several scoops – in a tall glass, add a straw and spoon. Heaven! It’s more thirst quenching than ice
    cream alone, and I’m totally addicted to the creamy frozen concoction. Who Invented it anyway? I
    think the Italians claim gelato but the Turks have something similar…I may have to make a trip to
    replenish my freezer soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mmm the floats sound good Helena. I hope you get a breeze off the water at your place.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting. Always love to hear from you.
      Cheers
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. We just aren’t made for it. I keep thinking about Icarus flying too do we to the sun. Thanks for stopping by.

      Best Wishes

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Tue, 30 Jun, 2015 at 11:49 am Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “My (Extremely) Hot Summer Event/ Cancelled”

      Like

  8. Sorry to hear about your Canadian heat wave. I hope the temps. drop for you soon and that it isn’t the new norm. (Read the second Kay Driscoll mystery, Murder Under the Tree and cool down. It’s a Christmas mystery with lots of snow and icicles and cold temperatures! Lol.)

    We’ve been lucky in Wisconsin. It hasn’t been much above 80 degrees F. Of course with the slow start of summer is the slow start of flowers and vegetables. I’m having doubts I will even get some of my vegetables this year. And we have had a lot of rain. Our grass looks great!

    Happy Canada Day to you, Jo-Ann!

    Like

    1. Hi Susan
      I think a winter mystery would be perfect.
      Sorry to hear you have a slow start to your summer. Hope your vegetables pick up.
      What crazy weather.
      I love it when you stop by and chat. Thanks for your support.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

