VIRA

I am the New and First President of VIRA

Add subtitle text

Am I crazy? Maybe.

Why did I do it? I love the VIRAs.

VIRA stands for Vancouver Island Romance Authors. We are 42 members strong and are survivors from the local chapter of the RWA, which recently dissolved. In our group we have RITA Award winning authors, New York Times Best Selling authors and people who are just starting out. We live all over our island of mountains, lakes and valleys (not to mention vineyards), which is 290 miles long and sits off the west coast of Canada.

The variation in skills and physical distance between us means nothing. We are all writers. Our meetings are lively and our workshops on craft and business are spectacular. If you’re in the area, please join us.

With trepidation, I look forward to being the first president of this amazing group.

How about you? Do you like taking on volunteer positions? Any words of advice?

 

11 thoughts on “I am the New and First President of VIRA

  1. Congrats, Jo-Ann. I’m so glad y’all were able to set up another chapter. (Frankly, I hated all the changes RWA made.) That would’ve I’m sure you’ve been president of groups before. If not, however, I’ll be happy to send you some formats of things that I’ve found useful to me over the years of serving as president and chair of various organzations. What I found the year I was president of my writing chapter is I didn’t write much at all, but that may have been a more personal thing, because I was really deciding whether or not to stick with it, and only did because I was president. (Thank you NTRWA.) I’m so glad I stuck it out. LOL
    Delegate as much as you can. Make sure people know what is expected of them and have all the info they need to do their job. Then check back with them to see how it’s going. My biggest mistakes have always come because I assumed someone knew or understood something and they didn’t. My daughter’s phrase is “trust, but verify.”
    Here’s the other thing I want to say. Thank you, Jo-Ann, for taking on this big commitment.It will mean a lot to all of the writers there. I can’t imagine not having a local chapter! Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marsha
      I love your “trust but verify” line and I’m keeping it.
      I’m sure glad you stuck with writing. You were meant to create stories for us all to enjoy.
      When I read over your comment I get nervous. I thought I just had to set agendas and chair meetings. Oh boy. We’ll see how it goes.
      Thanks for your support. You may get some panic emails through the year.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I join Marsha in thanking you for taking on the commitment. Already I can see where you’re doing an excellent job of leading while making sure you find out what members really want. You never fail to inept me Jo-Ann!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Pat
      Aaaw, you have me blushing. Thank you for your kind words. Together we will make a strong and responsive exec. Can’t do it without you. So you are welcome and I thank you for being our member at large. You are always their for our group when we need you.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are already showing signs of being a stellar president. Tact and organizational skills you have in abundance. And you know how to run a meeting in a timely manner. I’m so glad you decided to take on the role. Volunteering has helped me to get acquainted with members I wouldn’t have otherwise – and we are such a fascinating group 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Helena
      Thank you for your kind words. I am really blushing now. You are an amazing volunteer, so to get your nod means a lot to me.
      Thank you
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

