Monday Mistakes

thinking

Why am I doing this?

Much of Social Media is filled with “Look at me, I’m successful… brilliant… beautiful… fill-in-the-blank-PERFECT.” Don’t get me wrong. I like reading this stuff. It’s great to be able to share happy moments. But what about those other times?

Since real life is about all the moments, I’m going to post, shall we say, less than perfects on Mondays. I’m calling this mini-series, “Monday Mistakes,” because I like alteration and Monday Boo-boos sounds odd.

Here goes my first story:

I’m a great sailor. Really…

Anchored in Pirate’s Cove on a sunny, July day, life seemed perfect. At least twenty boats were moored, enjoying the peace and serenity of Decourcey Island. We were returning from a paddle around the cove, and to get back into the sailboat, all I had to do was step out of the dinghy. I’ll just transfer my weight, I told myself, stretchng one foot on board the big boat, while one remained in the little one. The two boats parted ways, leaving me attempting the splits in the middle. I fell into the murky chuck.

This wouldn’t have been such a bad thing, except that: 1) swimming in the small cove is like swimming in a toilet bowl, 2) every mariner in the cove was watching and laughing, and 3) it was damn cold.

I scrambled up the slimy rocks on shore with the agility of a beached whale and proceeded to walk to the dock with as much dignity as I could muster, picking sea weed off my clothes.

Yup- I’m a salty sailor.

AQuote About Mistakes

“Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.”
Albert Einstein

How about you? Do you have any mistakes you’d like to share? You can put them in a comment or contact me to write a guest post on another Monday (connect@jo-anncarson.com).

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “Monday Mistakes”

  1. Jo-Ann, just got your newsletter and just watched the trailer. It’s fantastic. Smart, intriguing, beautiful to look at, and I LOVED the music! Just terrific!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have another sailing story. I was at the bow of our sailboat. My job was to hook the rope onto the bouncing buoy, using a pole, something I’d done many times before. I did hook the boat onto the buoy, then the wind picked up, and the boat ended up pushing me away. I sailed into the air still hanging onto the pole. It was the fall and extremely cold, and I was wearing a ski jacket and sailing boots. Oh joy! I was rescued by the bushman. I was most concerned about my watch! And wondering how many people had witnessed my strange behaviour.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Jodie

      I laughed long and hard at that one. You drew such a vivid picture.

      I think you and I should open up a sailing charter business. We could call it Wild Sea Adventures.

      Thanks so much for sharing your story.

      Best Wishes

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Mon, 4 May, 2015 at 4:34 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “Monday Mistakes”

      Like

  3. My sailor mistake story is spooky similar to yours, Jo-Ann! When I was a teenager, my sister and I decided to take our brand new inflatable dingy out on our farm’s dugout — a special made watering hole for the cattle and the nearest water for miles. As I was trying to get out of the dingy and onto the shore, I got my hands on the bank but my feet stayed in the dingy which started drifting away from the shore until I was stretched flat above the water and then…I was in the water. Very smelly water with a mucky bottom. My sister laughed very hard…and did nothing to help me. For all I know she might have been paddling away from the shore as I tried to disembark. Big sisters have a lot to answer for 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Jacqui

      That’s a great story. You are definitely part of my sailing crew. 

      You cracked me up. I can just imagine it. 

      Thanks so much for sharing.

      Best Wishes

      Jo-Ann

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”Jo-Ann Carson” Date:Mon, 4 May, 2015 at 6:50 pm Subject:[Jo-Ann Carson] Comment: “Monday Mistakes”

      Like

Leave a Reply

