Mata Hari Series Book Trailer #1

Notes from my DIY journey:

The most difficult part:

For me, it was choosing the music. It took me hours,  days.

There’s so much good music out there! After I listened to a couple tunes, I got lost in the melodies and tempos. Talk about an emotional, sensory overload! It’s like going into the perfume department in The Bay. I can’t tell one scent from another after about fifteen seconds.

Some music clips I found were too harsh, others too light; some distracting, others not suspenseful … And… I got carried away with the joy of listening.

The funniest part:

I laughed really hard when I saw the thumbnail YouTube chose. I didn’t get to choose it. I thought it would be the first frame, so I chose that one carefully. LOL Clearly You Tube likes, as do most romance readers, bare chested men.

How to?

I used Power Point because I’m familiar with it. (Thank you Jacqui Nelson for that tip.) I looked at different sources for pictures and went with Shutterstock, because I had several of their images already and I’m used to working with them. I listened to music everywhere at every price and went with Premium Beat. It had great tunes at a fair price.

Time: 

The next one will go faster. Maybe. I’ve worked on this one for a week, between working on my wip and having a life. Once the trailer started taking shape it infiltrated my mind like a wicked virus that refused to be ignored. It became hard to get anything else done.

Cost:

About $100. USD. I know I could have done it cheaper, but I’m happy with my choices and my product.

Would I do it again?

You betcha. When I have the next two books finished I’ll do a second trailer for the series. Creating trailers is a great closure project.

Now I’m off to promote it:)

What do you think? I’d love your feedback.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

28 thoughts on “Mata Hari Series Book Trailer #1”

  1. I love your trailer, Jo-Ann! And I think the music is perfect; reminded me a bit of the Pink Panther
    beat. The bare chested Sebastian is a hoot although my imagination had created someone more, hmm sophisticated ? Must also tell you that Goodreads sent me a message telling me that you
    liked my book review – but I have yet to write it. But I will. I will. I’m doing my last assignment for ‘the
    course’ today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniela
      Thanks for your wonderful comments.
      In my mind Sebastian gets more sophisticated when he puts his clothes on. LOL. But I know what you mean. I hate presenting images of my characters, because I don’t want to mess with the images reader’s have created in their own mind. It’s a tricky line.
      Thanks again for all your support. You are an awesome writing buddy.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi JC
      Thank you. It means a lot to me to hear you say that. You find these multi-media things so easy. I really appreciate your praise.
      hugs
      J

      Like

    1. Hi Judy
      I can see a plotter liking to do it first, but I’m more of a pantser, as you know. It was fun, though, and I survived. Thanks for stopping by and giving me encouraging words.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thanks Jacquie
      I’m really happy with it. Tks also for the Google plus promo and other promos. You are a great writing buddy.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, Jo-Ann. Saw this earlier today, but had one of the grands around and was afraid to play the video. 🙂 I love the music top, think it’s perfect. Not so fond of the Sebastian actor, but agree with everyone with clothes he’d be better. That being said, it’s a great video and you should pat yourself on the back for this one! So impressed with all your technology skills! I tweeted and FBed earlier.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks Marsha. I’m glad you liked it. My Power Point skills from teaching came in handy. Who knew?
      Btw I think it’s just you Daniela that want to cover up Sebastian so far. LOL. That’s okay with me. I get it and I appreciate your honest feedback.
      Thanks also for the promo.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Joanne
      Thanks. I’m so glad you liked it.
      And thanks for sharing. There are so many of us out there, it’s hard not to get lost.
      Thank goodness for friends.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Sylvie
      Thanks for your lovely feedback. I really appreciate it.
      Hope to see you in the market tomorrow.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Wow, Jo-Ann, I am impressed! I watched the trailer before reading your blog and wondered what company you went with, but you did it yourself!! It’s amazing. Well done you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ros
      Wow! That’s an awesome story. I’m going to treasure it.
      Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your kind words.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Jodie
      Thank you. Good old Power Point!
      Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy your writer’s retreat.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I think you did a super job, Jo-Ann. I just complete my first trailer, and there are a couple of things I’d change, but I’ve learned for the next one. Congrats.

    Like

    1. Hi Polly
      Thank you. I know what you mean. After you finish you smack your forehead and say, “I should’ve…”
      My “should have’ is that I should have faded out the music. It sounds like an abrupt end. But I still love it.
      Hope you love yours.
      I’m sure our work will continue to improve.
      It’s so nice of you to stop by and share.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Great trailer, Jo-Ann! The music is perfect. I love the small touches as well like the background that has (at least to my eye) sun or light beams in the grey tones. Looks very atmospheric. Sucked me right in.

    Like

    1. Thanks Jacqui
      I really appreciate you stopping by and taking a look. That you like it, makes my day.
      Thanks also for the information you sent me on how to change the thumbnail frame. I’m having so much success with Sebastian out there, that I’m now reluctant to change it. Am I using him. Well… maybe. I think I’ll change it every few weeks.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

