My 10 Steps to Indie Publishing

 

1. Write the best story you can.

Take a deep breath. Publishing your own work requires a leap of faith. Do it anyways.

You’ll find there are many writers out there willing to help you along.

2. While you’re writing your story create, or enhance, your Social Media Platform (i.e., create a website that links your blog, public email, Facebook Page, Pinterest, Google plus…you get the idea). Interact with people. Grow a community.

3. Edit. Edit. Edit. There are basically three editing stages: content editing, copy editing and proofreading. You can pay others to do any, or all of these stages. Many writers hire different editors for each stage. I send my work to a copy editor (All-Read-E), because that’s what I need most, a line edit by a person who understands The Chicago Style Manual better than me.

4. Create a cover. Make your own or hire someone to do it. There are many designers out their. I chose to crowdsource my first cover and came up with a design I love (by Nina French). You can read more about that here.

5. Create an E-Book. To format for ebook platforms I use Jutoh software. You can see my post explaining how to do it here.

6. Create a Print Book. I use Word to format for Amazon Create Space. My first experience was a bit like putting my head through an old-fashioned washing machine ringer. I think it’s worth doing at least once, so you understand the process, and so you have complete control over your product. You can read about my experience here.

7. Upload formatted files and check the proofs. There’s nothing more exciting than getting your print copy delivered to you. My delivery man couldn’t believe how happy I was to see him. His eyes widened and he took a step back. I think he was worried I was going to kiss him.

8. Try to build a sense of anticipation. Set your books up for pre-order and start a Goodreads Giveaway (mine starts on Tuesday).

9. Consider promotion opportunities that fit for you. For example, I’m working with Book Partners in Crime Promotions on a blog/review tour.

Take another deep breath.

10. Launch.

I wish you every success with your artisan book, a unique creation from you.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

17 thoughts on “My 10 Steps to Indie Publishing”

    1. Hi Anna
      I’m so darn excited. It’s taken 4 years to get this far and now I’m so close.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Looking back on it that’s pretty much exactly what I did although I didn’t stop to breathe enough. You’ve put a lot more planning into yours. Wishing you huge success my friend.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      There is no one right way. Of that I’m sure. I’m just glad I’ve done the bulk of the work and now can relax… for a week.
      Thanks for your good wishes Pat. They mean a lot to me.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Jo Ann,

    Your blog is such a great resource for authors! Wether you self publish or go traditional, you show us how to plan, what’s involved and how you did it. Thank you!

    Diane Kratz

    Like

  3. You make it sound do-able, Jo-Ann. It’s great to see an over-view like that whether I ever have the courage to try it or not. I wish you every success – very soon now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marsha
      I hope the list helps others. I know it helps me sort the process that swirls in my head.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

