Memories, Promotion, Publicity, Readings

Reading in Victoria

Look Show Community Ats Exhibition
Look Show
Community Ats Exhibition

On Friday March 6th, I gave a reading at the Look Show in Victoria. The whole evening seemed magical and rushed by in  a whirl-wind minute. I’ll describe it bit by bit.

Our Evening Started with Dinner at Koto’s

Dining with six authors is  a blast. I think we laughed more than we talked and the food was magnificent. A great start to the evening.

VIRA ladies at Koto's
VIRA ladies at Koto’s

 

Just so you know, we all look better than this, but the bright light in the middle distorted our beauty.

Big Thank Yous 

To the wonderful group of women writers who came to support us (in the picture above, from left to right: Jacqui Nelson, Sharon Gunn, Pat Amsden, me, Jodie Esch, Shereen Vedam and Lee McKenzie). Thanks also to the rest of the VIRA gang who sent us love and good wishes.

IMG_3666-web-col
Jodie Esch

An enormous thank you to Jodie Esch for being my partner in this event, and putting up with me for the weekend in her beautiful home in Cobble Hill.

 

 

 

The “Look” Event

The event took place in an empty store on the third floor of the Hudson Bay Center in downtown Victoria. Art was displayed on all the walls and on a few partitions set up in between. A microphone and a stand were placed in one corner for readings.

Jodie and I arrived half an hour before our designated time to get organized and found the event in full swing. About fifteen people sat in the audience and a writer stood at the microphone reading from his work. When he finished, the coordinator looked our way and we started. Jodie went first, because we had planned it that way and then I followed. Both readings went well, if I do say so myself.

Unfortunately, because we started early, our VIRA group didn’t arrive until near the end of my reading.

We stayed and listened to the rest of the readers and then left as a group.

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly…

JoAnn03
courtesy of Jacqui Nelson

The Good – (1) I shared my work. (2)I had wonderful time with other writers. (3) One of the board members from the Victoria Writers Society followed us into the hallway and a connection was made between their group and ours. (4) I bought a new hat.

The Bad – There was no opportunity to interact with the audience. Jodie displayed her books, The Girlfriend Series,  and I displayed promotional postcards and pens. But no one, to be honest, looked interested. The audience in general seemed stiff and unresponsive.

The Ugly – It was all over so fast.

courtesy of Jacqui Nelson

What Would I do Differently Next Time?

1) I’ll ask questions beforehand about the writer’s opportunity to interact with the audience. They had said we could sell books, but they really weren’t set up for it.

2) I`ll work at promoting the event more and ask that they do as well.

 

 

 

Memories

Definitely a night to remember. My first reading as an author.

 

13 thoughts on “Reading in Victoria

    1. Hi Anna
      Thanks for the support. Well, you know we have both been teachers, so having a less than enthusiastic crowd is nothing new. In my mind, I wondered what I could say to rouse them. But couldn’t think of anything, so stayed with my script. Live and learn.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I love that you read wearing the hat, Jo-Ann. A nice touch. I had pretty much a similar experience with the audience when I did a reading recently. Kind of non-responsive. Maybe I erred in what section of the book I read or how I read it. Not sure. We did an actual book sale and signing along with the reading, so did have an opportunity to interact with the folks in attendance. I gave away over 30 of my Swag gift bags. Only sold one book, but hey. Sounds like the event you attended has potential to be really good. They just may not have thought of everything they should’ve. At least they offered the opportunity and you had a good time. Sometimes, that’s as good as it gets. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks for noticing the hat. I debated wearing it, but you know it just felt right.
      I envy your book signings. We’ll suggest that next time. It is a new event sponsored by a whole bunch of folks, and they intend to do it again a year from now.
      I’m happy to have done the reading and I’m glad that my fellow authors made it an event.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Hi Jo-Ann, I think the evening was a success! You enjoyed a fantastic dinner with friends, bought a new hat, and most of all shared your love of writing with everyone who attended. Sorry I missed, but maybe it’s safer that way, I’d be like the hockey mom in the back row shouting encouragement, lol
    Seriously, congrats to you and Jodie, very proud of you both 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jacquie
      It was fun. Thanks for your well wishes. I’ll put “safe” aside to have you with us next time.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jo-Ann, you totally rocked the hat and the reading. I was honoured to be there, and dinner was great, too. I agree that the event could have been better organized and orchestrated, but it’s in its formative stage and I think it’s a good foundation to build on. Bottom line…congrats on being brave enough to put your work out there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

