Writing my Call to Action (CTA)

IMG_20140222_201928A Call to Action, in my case, is a note placed after my story asking readers to take action.

My intent is to:

  1. develop a stronger relationship with readers,
  2. gain useful feedback (both positive and negative) that will help me grow as a writer and
  3. promote my other books.

Easier said than done.

 

 

Having a lot to say, I started with an efficient list format:

A Note to my Readers (Draft 1)

You can help me grow as a writer by:

As a new publisher, I’d love your help getting my stories noticed. As a writer, I’d love to connect with you and respond to your reading interests.

I have two problems with this letter. First it reads like a shopping list.  Not at all like the heart-to-heart chat I want with people I’d like to develop an ongoing relationship with. Kind of the equivalent of handing a point form CV to a hot guy on the first date. Second, the indents don’t format well.

I spent Sunday reworking it and came up with this:

Dear Readers,

If you enjoyed reading Sadie and Sebastian’s story, you can help me spread the word about the Mata Hari series. Consider telling your friends about the book and writing a review (on Amazon, Goodreads, etc.,). Word-of-mouth and written reviews are pure gold for budding writers, like me.

Learn about my latest publications from my newsletter. You can sign up for it here and/or follow me on my Lovin Danger blog, Facebook, Twitter  and/or Pinterest.

To “one-click” me, go to my website www.jo-anncarson.com, my home on the Internet. To send me a personal note, email me at connect@jo-anncarson.com. I’d love to hear your thoughts on the story.

On the next page you’ll find information about the other books in the Mata Hari Series.

I know your time is valuable. Thank you for letting my story into your world for a few hours.

Best Wishes

Jo-Ann

What do you think? Any comments and suggestions would be most appreciated. Note, the underlined words would be hyper-linked.

*******************************

Newsletter Reminder

If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter click here to sign up.

************************************************

The Mata Hari Series launches April 1st!!!

Book #1 – Covert Danger

Short Story #2 – Born of Magic

Book #3 – Ancient Danger 

57 days and counting…

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “Writing my Call to Action (CTA)”

  1. I like the second one a lot more. I just wonder about the last two sentences… “I know your time is valuable” sounds sort of like a business letter or a query. What about just, “Thank you for sharing my story.” Make them feel part of it. on that thought, maybe something more welcoming for the first line, like, “Welcome to the world of Mata Hari.”
    Just thoughts. Thank you for sharing the journey. So many small but important pieces to bring together.

    Like

    1. Aaaaah Judy
      Love your ideas. I’ll incorporate them for sure.
      About the sharing part. You’re welcome. Writing about the journey helps me reflect on it… and look what great ideas I gather along the way.
      Have a great writing day
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. What I loved about the first part was the ‘point form CV to a hot guy on a first day’. And how about ‘Thank you for letting my story become part of your busy life for a few hours’ ? Now
    IMO the hot pink was too hot – almost made me reach for sunglasses, and I do like pink 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Helena
      Good points. I liked the hot guy part too. I’ll see if I can get it into the second part. I also like the idea of aknowledging that the reader has given me their time.
      The pink is just for the blog. lol. It will all be black on white.
      Thanks again for the feedback
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

