Cancer, Mata Hari Series, Uncategorized

Christmas Came Early for Me

shutterstock_113449987Christmas came early for me.

Yesterday was my one week anniversary of being cancer free. The surgery went well and when the platoon of doctors (I counted ten) looked around my innards they couldn’t find any more mutant cells. Yeah!!!

Now I’m waiting for the pathology report with my fingers crossed. If things go well, they will declare this cancer cured.

I’m feeling lucky, blessed, loved… Β and drugged.

But my muse will not shut up. I can’t seem to read. I’m tired of listening to audio books. TV entertains me for only so long.

Long story short – I gave into Madame Muse’s nudging and started writing. I have piles of editing and proofreading to do, but that wouldn’t satisfy her. She wanted to play with new words.

I’m writing a short story, “Just Another Christmas.” Working on something new feels like standing on a long deserted beach feeling the ocean breeze ruffle through my hair. If the story settles by next week, I’ll introduce it on my blog and put it up on Wattpad. It may not be my best work, but that’s okay with me.Β I just want to play.

I’m healthy, happy and writing again.

Thank you dear friends for your support. Believe me, I can feel it.

santa5

47 thoughts on “Christmas Came Early for Me

    1. Hi Joanne
      The sun, which is actually hiding behind a heavy gray cloud, feels extra bright for me today. Thank you for your good wishes. They mean a lot to me. And Merry Christmas
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Diane
      I have more good news. My pathology report was all good. I won’t have to have chemo or radiation. I’m dancing on the air happy. Thank you for your kind words. It’s great to be writing again. Merry Christmas.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Pat
      Thank you for your well wishes. The storm I’m brewing is a little weak on mechanics, but I don’t care. I’m having fun. And I’m so glad to be alive. Merry Christmas my friend.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. This is fantastic news. And writing should be about playing as well. Good for you for tackling a short story and having FUN! And just in time for Christmas! Sending positive vibrations your way.

    Like

    1. Hi Jodie in the sunshine
      Yes I’m have a great time. Everything I do seems extra-special wonderful. Feeling the support, my friend. Thank you.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Susan
      Yes, playing with words is healing. Loving it.
      I’m also enjoying your road trip (vicariously). I hope the rig is on the road again soon.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Jo-Ann, what great news. I’m so glad to hear you are writing again, it’s kind of like painting or creamics, they all allow a wonderful freedom and relaxation as you work. I hope you really enjoy it and that the words flow like a river. Sylvie

    Like

    1. Hi Sylvie
      Thank you for your well wishes. The words come out in staccato blurps, but I’m enjoying every one of them.They are treasures to me. Thanks for understanding as only a writer would.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thank you Lee
      I love your line, “May the muse be with you.” I’m so excited. The pathology report came in right after I posted. It’s all good news. I won’t need chemo or radiation. I am so excited and so thankful, both for my health and my friends.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Alice
      Yes, the gift of life. I feel so humbled and excited at the same time. I am blessed. Thank you for your encouragement.
      Merry Christmas
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Jo-Ann, I am THRILLED by your news!!!! I’ve been thinking about you every day and was just going to send you an email when a little voice told me to hop on to your blog. And now I know why. What a wonderful Christmas gift for me too. Can’t wait for our paths to cross again and to share all your writerly inspiration. All my best, my friend, sending you great big hugs for a wonderful Christmas and a New Year filled with everything your heart desires!
    xoxo
    Irene

    Like

    1. Hi Irene
      Thank you. And I wish you a wonderful Christmas on your peaceful island and a truly awesome New Year. You so deserve it. See you soon.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thanks Jenny
      Getting the gift of life for Christmas is overwhelming. I’m ecstatic.
      I hope you have a wonderful Christmas too.
      hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

