3 Points About Multi-author Indie Collaborations (RWA 2014)

Team-Clipart-NO-BACKGROUND

Management of Multi-author Indie Collaborations

presented by Sarra Cannon and Marquita Valentine

RWA 2014 (tape 19-007)

My three take-aways from this presentation are:

One – Increase Your Visibility by Working with Other Authors

  • the biggest problem for the modern writer is visibility
  • you can increase your visibility by working with others and there are many ways to do that

Two – Boxed Sets

  • it’s better to have at least two books published before you put one in a box set with other writers
  • network to find other writers interested in a project
  • you need to agree on two things: 1 – the goal and 2 – your marketing plan
  • usually a multi-author box set is up for one to three months
  • usually sells for 99 cents
  • you need to have one person in charge who takes care of the accounting (and you may want to involve an accountant)

Three – Other Formats to Consider:

  • Co-writing – co-writing stories with another writer helps increase your output and therefore your visibility
  • Exchanges – put another author’s blurbs/excerpts at the back of your books / reviews etc.
  • Multi-author themed promotions – some authors don’t want to go the box set route because of the complex accounting, so working on a themed promotion works better for them (e.g., Christmas  – everyone publishes a novella with a Christmas theme, brand them with cover design and cross-market, do blog tours etc., author page on Amazon for the event)
  • Author Collaborative – I’ve heard this called a “brain trust” elsewhere. It’s a group of people you can bounce ideas off of, share experiences with etc. and cross-promote.

What do you think? Have you tried some of these practices? Did they work? Love to hear from you.

*****************************

My Doggy Problem

by Searchtempo Courtesy of Wikipedia
by Searchtempo
Courtesy of Wikipedia

In my last post I asked for help naming my heroine’s dog. What would a lady spy call her labradoodle? Between responses on my blog and the Guppie loop I now have a list of 24 names to choose from! I can’t thank you guys enough. Here’s the list so far: Hoover, Giles, Herbert, Maxwell, Dossier,Slick, Cassanova, Double O, Retha, Sunnie, Nova, Revere, Magellan, Jello, Choco, Artemis, Glock (or another pistol name), Sherlock, Snoop, Boris, Natasha, Nathan Hale, Donovan, Snoops and Sherlock again:) Amazing names and I love them all. I’m going to try putting some of the names into the text and seeing how they read.

Meanwhile, if you have a name to add, please send it along. If I choose it, I will put your name on the acknowledgement page and send you an autographed print copy when it’s released (i.e., Ancient Danger). 

*******************************

Newsletter Contest Reminder

If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter click here to sign up. At the end of October one subscriber’s name will be drawn for a ten dollar Amazon gift card. My November edition will name the winner and have a blurb and an audio clip from Covert Danger, the first book in my Mata Hari series launching April 1st.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “3 Points About Multi-author Indie Collaborations (RWA 2014)”

  1. I still don’t think I have enough content out to go with a boxed set but I’m getting close. Those do seem to do well for writers involved although I sometimes think that if we’re all offering six or more full-length books for .99 we may end up shooting ourselves in the foot, With so many writers doing it you have to wonder how many people are just going to stop buying any book over .99 cents.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      The whole world of marketing is new to me. I’m no expert, and won’t pretend to be.
      I agree with you, that selling our hard work in a set for 99 cents looks like we’re shooting ourselves in the foot, but authors report jumps in sales of their other books and that’s the real reason for doing it. It’s all about increasing visibility. Remember, the set is only out for a short time. Short pain, for long term gain.
      Still I understand your wariness.
      Boxed sets are hot now, but I think a lot of promotional tactics have a limited shelf life. After all, how many boxed sets do people want to buy? How do you make your set stand out when they are all the same price? On top of that, the accounting and organization details are often a nightmare.
      I’m just watching at this point.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and giving your honest opinion. I can always count on you for humor and honesty.
      All the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. So glad you’re still taking names. Maybe I responded on a FB query, but I like Scout. She’s the girl heroine in To Kill a Mockingbird. Our younger daughter named her Jack Russel Terrier that. We got Scott after the first year.

    These were good ideas. Something everyone is looking into. Tough to do if you’re not Indie. I saw how the multi-themed event would work far easier than the whole accounting nightmare of a regular boxed set. Will keep that in mind, whenever I have an Indie book. More and more reasons, you’ve made the right choice, Jo-Ann! I’ll share.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Scout! Great name for a lady who sleuths, and I like the historical connection. I’ll add it to my list.
      Thanks for your kind words and shout outs.
      Happy Writing my friend
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Judy
      I like Remington. I used to enjoy the Remington Steel character on TV, not to mention Magnum. Cool names. Thanks for adding them to my list.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

