Indie Rambles # 7 – Tactics vs Strategies

Help – I Have a Dog Problem

A Labradoodle by Searchtempo, Courtesy of Wikipedia

In a blue moment, I wrote a puppy into my WIP.  I love playing with him and I can rationalize his place in the story.

My problem is finding him a name. What would a sophisticated spy, a modern Mata Hari, call her dog? Not Spot to be sure. Double 07 is too awkward, but I could go with James or Bond, or…

It’s a labradoodle puppy, a younger version of the six month old dog in the picture above. He/she lives in New York City. Its gender will depend on it’s name.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. If I use your idea, I’ll add your name to my acknowledgment page of Ancient Danger (the first book with the dog in it) and send you an autographed print copy (when it’s published). If you don’t like to comment on blogs, you can email me directly at connect@jo-anncarson.com. I will share your ideas, but not your name (unless you give me permission to).

**************************************

Now – About Tactics and Strategies

Charles Dickens  from Wikipedia
Charles Dickens from Wikipedia

As I study the Indie world, I look for basic concepts that will further my writing and publishing career. Today I’m talking about the one that strikes me as being the most fundamental.

Experts say that to succeed in publishing you need to focus on strategies, not tactics.

(It’s a concept promoted by Sean Platt, Johnny B. Truant and David Wright in their podcasts and books. see reference below*)

What is a tactic?

“…a specific technique you can use to achieve a desired result.” (p. 42*)  A good example is “Kindle Direct Publishing” (KDP). It could work for you today, but it could disappear tomorrow. It’s easy to get caught up in these seemingly magical tools.

What is a strategy?

“…strategies are the larger, deeper plans that drive your business.  Strategies are things like ‘write the best books you can’, ‘create reader loyalty and connection’, satisfy customer demand’, and ‘create logical next-step reading experiences and have them ready (and obviously available) for readers when they finish your books’.” (p. 43*)

The big point is:

Tactics tend to change quickly, but strategies almost never do. Charles Dickens could have employed all of the strategies above, despite his lack of an iPad.” (p. 43*)

“Use the tactics at your disposal while you can, but always keep your eyes on the big picture, and never, ever forsake your strategies just because a particular tactic seems tempting.” (p. 43*)

Me?

For me, it all comes down to staying focused, writing the best book I can, and using whatever tools are available to publish and promote it.

**********************************

Newsletter Contest Reminder

If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter click here to sign up. At the end of October one subscriber’s name will be drawn for a ten dollar Amazon gift card. My November edition will name the winner and have a blurb and an audio clip from Covert Danger, the first book in my Mata Hari series launching April 1st.

******************************************************

* Sean Platt, Johnny B. Truant with David Wright, Write. Publish. Repeat. The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success, Realm and Sands 2013

 Love love love to hear from you.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

33 thoughts on “Indie Rambles # 7 – Tactics vs Strategies”

  1. I’m new to Sinc and saw your post about dogs. Labradoodles are adorable. My sister said her next dog she is naming “Hoover,” like the vacuum cleaner. LOL

    Like

    1. Hi Vicki
      Hoover – Love it. I’ll put it on my list.
      Welcome to Sinc by the way. I find there’s always interesting discussions on the loop.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Anna
      Love the idea of using Maxwell Smart. I loved that show and it will add a touch more humor. I’ll add it to my list.
      Thanks for stopping by Anna.
      Hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Kimberly
      Dossier! Interesting. My character sure reads a lot of them:) I’ll add it to my list.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thanks Judy.
      The guys (i.e., Sean Platt, Johnny B. Truant and David Wright) make sense to me. Thanks for following my journey and giving me encouragement.
      Hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Judy
      I like Double 0 too, though I think calling him in a park might be awkward . Maybe DO, Deoh, would be his nickname. Definatley could work with that. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Hi all,
    This is exciting. So many great ideas. So far my list is: Hoover, Giles, Herbert, Maxwell(Smart), Dossier, Cassanova and Double o.
    Love to collect more names.
    Best
    Jo-Ann

    Like

    1. Hi Diana
      Great ideas. I’ve added them to the list. It’s great to meet another Mata Hari fan.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. If you’re going with an American name, why not Nathan Hale? “Nate” for short?

    That is an adorable dog, all right. Who takes care of it while the spy is on location? Ooh–is there a stalwart but quirky next door neighbor in the mix?

    I’m a first-time visitor to your site. Nice place you have here!

    Like

    1. Hi Lyn
      You totally nailed me on the neighbour.
      Nate! Another awesome name for my list.
      Nice to meet you. Thanks for stopping by and helping me out.
      Best wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. How about Magellan,with Jello for short. I think the nickname would suit a labradoodle puppy and Magellan was an explorer.

    Like

    1. Hey Helena
      Jello! That’s an adorable name. I’ll put it on my list. Thanks for stopping by and helping me figure it out.
      Hugs
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. “Artemis” was Virginia Hall’s alias as a spy – she was a US spy during WWII, helped the French Resistance and the Gestapo referred to her as the most dangerous of all Allied spies. She had only one full leg, the other was amputated from the leg down. Not as clever as some of the others, but a suggestion to honor an heroic woman!

    Like

  6. My son named a German Shepard puppy he got years ago, Pistol, and I named a K-9 police dog in my latest book that, too. How about some other gun name your character might carry? Cute dog, by the way.

    Like

    1. Hi Gloria. Great idea. Like Magnum and Remington. The words have weight. I’ll add it to my list.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  7. Aw, I love the idea of having a labradoodle and I can see all kinds of plot points to put her in. They’re the original purse pups and having one come to life and bolt from the purse at awkward times would be fun. I’d call him/her Sherlock but that’s just me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

