3 Key Points About Pinterest (2014 RWA) Kathy Wheeler

“Put Pinterest to Work for You” (#19-008)

presented by Kathy Wheeler

What is Pinterest?

A place to collect and organize the things you love.

My three take-aways:

One – Why use Pinterest?

  • 70 million users
  • 80% female / 25% of women on line use Pinterest
  • Pinterest has 41% of ecommerce traffic compared to FB 37%
  • start and grow your fan base / sell books
  • collect pictures to help you plan your next story (you can keep boards for your eyes only as long as you want)
  • put up pictures to launch your next book

Two – How to Use Pinterest

  • set up a business account (or convert your personal one)(video demo – http://writepublishandsell.com/pinterest)
  • Pinterest will automatically grab pricing info to place with pins
  • paid promotion opportunities
  • Pinterest plans to add more benefits for business
  • usual good SM practices apply – 20% your stuff and 80% for fun things (your interests/hobbies)
  • How to pin your book buy link:

Three – 5 Most Powerful Pins

  1. quotes
  2. infographics
  3. tutorials
  4. teaser text
  5. videos

This is a great tape, full of information and there is a handout for it as well. If you have time, take a listen.

Here is a link to my Pinterest account. I’m just a beginner, but I’m having fun.

***************************************

Newsletter Contest Reminder

If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter click here to sign up. At the end of October one subscriber’s name will be drawn for a ten dollar Amazon gift card. My November edition will name the winner and have a blurb and an audio clip from Covert Danger, the first book in my Mata Hari series launching April 1st.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “3 Key Points About Pinterest (2014 RWA) Kathy Wheeler”

    1. Hi Judy
      I kept thinking of you as I started my boards, because you are so artistic. It really is fun and easy. I’m not sure how people get masses of followers, but for the moment I’m playing.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Another great summary blog post, Jo-Ann. Thanks for sharing your board. Oh, my goodness! So much stuff!. If anything this makes me glad I haven’t jumped on the Pinterest bandwagon. I don’t need more input to fog my brain and keep me from writing. Between FB, Twitter, my publishers authors loop, a smidgen of Linkedin, and the blogs I follow! Well, that’s enough. I’m so impressed with the way you see a new technology/SM thing and embrace it so completely! While I so appreciate you doing all this, I just can’t take on another thing. LOL I don’t even want to do the newsletter thing. Why can’t people just sign up for my blog. All the latest is there. LOL I’ll share for sure. This is going to be right up a lot of people’s alley.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks for stopping by.
      I agree we can’t be wasting our time jumping on the latest Popsicle flavor of the month in digital space, but I like to try different things.I’m still looking for a good fit for me on social media.
      Unlike you, I suck at FB big time, so I mostly lurk there. I haven’t tried Linkedin, having been turned off by how many invitations I get from friends, because their whole email list has been stolen from them. I follow some blogs, especially yours. And I do enjoy Twitter, especially on Wednesdays because of the KOD #1linewed event.
      I thought the Pinterest presentation was interesting, and I can easily waste time there. Whether it will result in greater exposure for my books is questionable, but if a reader wanted to get to know me better, my boards would give them lots to think about.We’ll see how long I last, and how long the platform stays popular.
      Again thanks for visiting and promoting.
      You must be counting the minutes until your trip.
      We’re packing for a quick visit on the mainland. My oldest daughter’s convocation for her MEd will be on Friday and then its Canadian thanksgiving weekend. Can’t wait to see everyone.
      All the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

